Formula Renault UK

Millroy Picks Up Maiden Formula Renault Win At Snetterton

2 Mins read

In the Snetterton sunshine, Ollie Millroy led from lights to flag to win Round 11 of the 2010 Michelin Formula Renault UK Championship, his first ever victory in the series. The 20 year old drove a confident race, building up an early lead and never looking back.

It was Millroy who secured pole position, his first in the series, after performing best in tricky conditions in qualifying. Team mate Will Stevens lined up alongside him, with championship leader Tamas Pa'l Kiss and Harry Tincknell making up row two. Nick Yelloly and Tom Blomqvist completed row three.

As the race began, it was Millroy who made the best start, leading the pack as they entered Riches for the first time. A poor start by Stevens left him defending hard from Pa'l Kiss into the first corner. The battle for second continued, though the pair were joined in the fight by Yelloly and Tincknell. As they emerged from the end of a hard fought first lap, it was Stevens who remained in second, though Yelloly had managed to get the jump on his team mate Pa'l Kiss into third.

At the front, Millroy was getting his head down and building a lead, with the youngster almost two seconds clear by the end of lap two. The top five remained the same during the early stages, though there was a change for sixth on lap three, with Manor Competition's Lewis Williamson slipping past Blomqvist at Coram.

There were battles emerging throughout the field, with team mates Alex Lynn and Riki Christodoulou battling hard for eleventh position, with Riki finally getting the upper hand on lap four. While at the back of the field, there was a fight for fifteenth place, with Scorpio Motorsport's Joe Crook getting past Fortec Motorsport's David McDonald on lap six.

At the front, there was no sign of team orders between the Atech GP pairing of Yelloly and Pa'l Kiss, with the two battling hard for third, with 19 year old Yelloly holding off everything the championship leader threw at him.

At the front though, Millroy had to face no such pressure and went on to cross the line for a dominant maiden win. Stevens followed just over a second behind for his sixth podium of the year, with Yelloly securing his maiden podium in third. Pa'l Kiss finished fourth, ahead of Tincknell, Williamson and Blomqvist. CRS Racing's Michael Lyons finished eighth, posting the NGK fastest lap of the race in the process, with Marlon Stockinger and Robert Foster-Jones rounding out the top ten. Alex Lynn finished eleventh, winning the Graduate Cup class in the process.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula 1Formula Renault BARCFormula Renault UKW Series

Alice Powell Joins Alpine as Talent Identification and Development Mentor

2 Mins read
Alice Powell joins Alpine as talent identification and development mentor. She will help in finding young female talent, mentoring them into the Academy and Affiliate programme.
Formula Renault UK

Formula Renault UK 2011: Where Are They Now?

10 Mins read
Following the news last month that a planned Formula Renault UK revival has been scrapped for this season, the 2011 edition of the single-seater championship…
Formula Renault BARCFormula Renault UK

No UK Formula Renault For 2015

2 Mins read
Plans to revive Formula Renault UK have been scrapped, meaning there will be no British Formula Renault series for the first time since 1988.