2011 WTCC Calendar Features Argentina And China

1 Mins read

The 2011 World Touring Car Championship calendar was announced by the FIA World Motor Sport Council today, with races in Argentina and China featuring for the first time.

As usual, the season will kick off in March at Curitiba and end on the streets of Macau in November. The Argentinean round will be held at Buenos Aires, while the Chinese venue is still to be announced, although it is expected to be at Guangdong.

Other changes include the Race of Japan moving from Okayama to Suzuka, the Portuguese round returning to Porto and Zolder being dropped after just one year.

The FIA have also announced that cars will be allowed to use their current specification of engines in 2011. This is despite the series adopting 1.6 litre turbocharged petrol engines for next year. BMW, SEAT and Chevrolet are all known to be developing one of these new units.

2011 WTCC calendar:

20/03 Curitiba, Brazil
03/04 Buenos Aires, Argentina
15/05 Monza, Italy
05/06 Marrakech, Morocco
19/06 Brno, Czech Republic
03/07 Porto, Portugal
17/07 Brands Hatch, United Kingdom
31/07 Oschersleben, Germany
04/09 Valencia, Spain
23/10 Suzuka, Japan
05/11 TBA, China
20/11 Macau

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.