Mass Penalties Bring Priaulx Closer To Leader Muller

1 Mins read

Andy Priaulx is now only 11 points behind World Touring Car Championship leader Yvan Muller after benefiting from a large number of penalties handed out to drivers after the Oschersleben round.

12 drivers were given 30-second penalties for breaking the 90kmh speed limit during the rolling start procedure in the first race. The penalised drivers were Tom Coronel, Michel Nykjaer, Norbert Michelisz, Kristian Poulsen, Sergio Hernandez, Fredy Barth, Jordi Gene, Franz Engstler, Mehdi Bennani, Stefano D’Aste, Andrei Romanov and Yukinori Taniguchi. The podium finishers, Alain Menu, Augusto Farfus and Muller, were unaffected. The only significant changes were that Tiago Monteiro and Priaulx moved up a place each at the expense of Coronel. This reduces the gap between championship leader Muller and Priaulx from 13 to 11 points.

Gabriele Tarquini, Fabio Fabiani and Darryl O'Young were also found guilty of the same offence, but retired from the race anyway.

Monteiro and Romanov were given 30-second penalties in Race Two for causing collisions. Rob Huff was given a suspended 10-place grid penalty for pushing Michelisz wide in the second race. The stewards had already been at the centre of attention when they black-flagged Huff during Race One.

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.