Formula 2

Vasiliauskas Takes Final Pole Of 2010

1 Mins read

Kazim Vasiliauskas took the final pole position of the 2010 Formula Two season for the second race of the final weekend at Valencia.

The Lithuanian, who rolled out of the first race at the first corner, set the fastest time around the Circuit Ricardo Tormo in the qualifying session. Jack Clarke and Armaan Ebrahim set identical times, but Clarke will start second as he set his time first.

Newly-crowned champion Dean Stoneman was leading the session with seven minutes remaining, with Jolyon Palmer in second. They returned to the pit lane having used their fresh rubber early on, allowing Clarke to take provisional pole, which was then taken by Vasiliauskas in the dying minutes of the session.

Ebrahim matched Clarke's time to take third, with Sergey Afanasiev ending up fourth, leading the close fight for third in the standings. Fellow Russian Ivan Samarin qualified fifth, ahead of Stoneman and Mihai Marinescu. Kelvin Snoeks was eighth, with race one winner Nicola De Marco in ninth and Benjamin Bailly in tenth. Palmer ended up 14th.

Vasiliauskas said: “My second pole position – brilliant, I’m so happy! Even from the first lap I felt very well, everything was fine with the car and made quite a good lap time. It wasn’t my maximum though, as I used the boost on my fastest lap but I went off a few times. I just need to make a good start and I’m sure I’ll be quick – I know what to do in the race.”

Related posts
Formula 2

Armstrong switches to DAMS for second F2 season

2 Mins read
A new team and hopefully new motivation for Marcus Armstrong.
Formula 2

HWA unveil Nannini and Deledda as Formula 2 lineup

2 Mins read
Double duty for Matteo Nannini who will race both Formula 2 and Formula 3 in 2021.
Formula 2Formula 3

Daruvala stays with Carlin for second F2 season, Edgar joins in F3

3 Mins read
Carlin have announced their first drivers in both FIA Formula 2 and FIA Formula 3 as they retain race-winner Jehan Daruvala. The…

Leave a Reply