Priaulx Wins Prestigious BRDC Gold Star Award

1 Mins read

World Touring Car Championship driver Andy Priaulx has won the prestigious BRDC Gold Award for 2010, beating Formula 1 driver Mark Webber to the title. The award is given to the driver that has scored the most points in the year, using the British Racing Drivers' Club's own points-scoring system for international races. British Touring Car Championship driver Gordon Shedden won the Silver Star, the national equivalent of the Gold Star, beating series champion Jason Plato, also by a margin of two points.

Priaulx scored two more Gold Star points than Webber over the 12 months running up to 31 October. Had Webber finished in the top eight at the recent Korean Grand Prix, he would have beaten Guernseyman Priaulx to the Award. Priaulx's points were scored in races of the WTCC, American Le Mans Series and Australian V8 Supercar Series.

This is the first time that a touring car driver has won the Gold Star. Priaulx has previously been given three awards by the BRDC, winning 'Special' Gold Stars in 2005 and in 2006 for winning the WTCC title and a Gold Medal in 2007 for taking his third consecutive WTCC title.

Priaulx is still in contention to take a fourth WTCC title in 2010 heading to the season finale in Macau on 21 November. Priaulx and Shedden will be presented with their Gold and Silver Stars at the 2010 BRDC Annual Awards, held at The Savoy Hotel, London on Monday 6 December.

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.

Leave a Reply