Formula Ford

Malvern Leads Jamun Formula Ford Line Up

2 Mins read

2010 Dunlop MSA Formula Ford of Great Britain runner up Scott Malvern has signed up with Jamun Racing as he looks to complete some unfinished business in the single seater series.

The McLaren Autosport BRDC Award finalist leads the teams assault on the UK series, as they look to win a seventh straight title, as well as the new Formula Ford EuroCup. The switch to Jamun marks a return to the team for the Essex racer, as he worked for them as a mechanic in 2008 before his racing career kicked off.

Malvern said: “We did look seriously at moving on to another series, but bridging the gap in funding between British Formula Ford and any of those series has just proved too difficult in the current economic climate. I have some fantastic sponsors but like everyone else they are feeling the pinch and they just weren't in the position to make the extra commitment.
“There is also an element that I have unfinished business here: I came very close to winning the title in my debut year and I now fully intend to come back and finish the job. It's going to be a very exciting championship this year with the EuroCup taking us to great circuits like Spa in Belgium and Zandvoort in Holland.”

Malvern admits it was a tough decision to leave his former team Cliff Dempsey Racing though, with whom he spent his first two years in car racing:

“It is with a heavy heart that I am moving on from CDR, as we have had some fantastic times over the past two seasons. I'd very much like to thank them and Gavin Ray for all of their help.”

Jamun will run four 2011- specification Mygales, with Dutchman Jeroen Slaghekke and Australians Nick McBride and Richard Goddard joining Malvern in their driving line up. The 2011 chassis’ feature several aerodynamic tweaks as they look to remain at the top of the field.

Commenting on the teams line up, team boss James Munday said: “Scott is a good signing for us. We have known him for years and he will fit in well with the team, and he's a very talented driver.

“We are pleased also to welcome Nick and Richard from Australia, both of whom have shown their pace in Formula Ford at home, and also Jeroen, who had an enormously promising season with us last year and who we expect to be very competitive.”

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.