SUNRED Confirms Another Six-Car Lineup For 2011

SUNRED have confirmed that they will run six SEAT Leons in the World Touring Car Championship for the second year running.

The Spanish team will run their six drivers under three different banners. They will start the season with diesel-powered Leon TDI models, but plan to switch to 1.6 litre engines as soon as possible. Unlike last year, the team will be competing in the Yokohama Independents' Trophy in 2011.

Former World Champion Gabriele Tarquini will be paired with Russian rookie Aleksei Dudukalo under the Lukoil-SUNRED banner. Last year Tarquini spearheaded a four-car effort from SUNRED under the SR-Sport moniker on his way to third in the final standings. Dudukalo graduates to the WTCC after racing in the SEAT Leon Eurocup.

Tiago Monteiro, who took two wins as an SR-Sport driver in 2010, will be entered under SUNRED Engineering alongside Dane Michel Nykjaer, who also remains with the team for a second season. Teenager Pepe Oriola will join them as he makes his WTCC debut, another stepping up from the Leon Eurocup.

Just like last year, Fredy Barth will be entered under SEAT Swiss Racing by SUNRED. He will looking to build upon his rookie season in 2010 where he finished 13th overall.

SUNRED Principal Joan Orus is pleased with his driver lineup and is looking forward to the season ahead. “We are very happy to race six cars once again,” said Orus. “It will be an interesting season and I am sure that all our drivers have the necessary skill to succeed. We will fight for both the WTCC Championship and the Yokohama Trophy.”