Formula Ford

Malvern Impresses At Silverstone

1 Mins read

2010 series runner up Scott Malvern topped the timesheets in his Jamun Racing Mygale at the first official test session for the 2011 Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain at Silverstone.

With less than a second covering the top twelve runners, times were tight as the drivers got their first chance to compare themselves against their rivals ahead of the new season.

Essex-based Malvern went quickest in both the days sessions, ending the day a hundredth of a second ahead of Australian team-mate Nick McBride, with Dutchman Jeroen Slaghekke making it a Jamun one-two-three on the leaderboard.

After just his sixth day in the Mygale, Malvern commented: “I have had to completely relearn how to drive, the Mygale is that different to the Ray I drove last year. The car feels great and I'm really pleased with how things are progressing.

Also impressing were the JTR team, with 2010 Scholarship Champion Tristan Mingay fourth fastest, with team-mate, Jerseyman Dan de Zille, next up. Sixth quickest was 2009 Scholarship champion Dan Cammish, testing Raysport's new Ray chassis and ending the day the fastest non-Mygale runner.

Silverstone will be the host of the opening rounds of the 24-race Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain on the weekend of 9/10 April.

Leading test times Silverstone 14/3/2011 (am/pm)
Scott Malvern GBR / Jamun Mygale: 57.494 / 57.396
Nick McBride AUS / Jamun Mygale: 57.885 / 57.406
Jeroen Slaghekke NED / Jamun Mygale: 57.867 / 57.504
Tristan Mingay GBR / JTR Mygale: 57.840 / 57.621
Dan de Zille JEY / JTR Mygale: 57.952 / 57.825
Daniel Cammish GBR / Raysport Ray:  — / 57.884
Neil Alborico USA / Dempsey Ray: 1:00.706 / 57.888
Spike Goddard AUS / Jamun Mygale: 58.234 / 57.957
Geoff Uhrhane AUS / JTR Mygale:  — / 57.973
Philippe Layac FRA / Enigma Mygale: 57.981 / 58.073
Matthew Parry FRA / Fluid Van Diemen: 58.410 / 58.168
Matthew Parr FRA / Fluid Van Diemen: 58.393 / 58.359 etc

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.