Monras Quickest In Formula Two Test At Snetterton

by Peter Allen

Miki Monras posted the fastest time at the second and final pre-season FIA Formula Two Championship test, held at the new Snetterton 300 circuit.

The Spanish youngster, who is making the switch from GP3 to F2 for the coming season, recorded the benchmark time during the opening morning session. His time was good enough to avoid being bettered later in the day, partly due to rain-affected running during the two afternoon sessions.

Will Bratt, who was returning to the F2 cockpit for the first time since the 2010 season finale in Valencia last September, recorded the second fastest time of the day – also in the first session. Series returnee Tobias Hegewald was third fastest.

Local racer Alex Brundle was quickest in the second session, setting a time that was good enough for fourth overall at the day's end. Jack Clarke was fifth, ahead of Mirko Bortolotti. In the first of the rain-affected afternoon sessions, James Cole timed his lap to perfection to top the standings just as the rain began to fall. Bratt was the fastest driver in the fourth and final session.

Monras was pleased to be fastest in pre-season testing prior to his rookie season in F2. “We have done two days of testing and they have been very positive – second in Silverstone, first here and also in the wet we had a good feeling. I hope we can still keep this pace at the first race; that’s the goal and what we fight for.”

Combined fastest times:

Pos Driver Nat Time Gap
1 Miki Monras ESP 1:37.211
2 Will Bratt GBR 1:37.612 +0.401
3 Tobias Hegewald GER 1:37.655 +0.444
4 Alex Brundle GBR 1:37.752 +0.541
5 Jack Clarke GBR 1:38.225 +1.014
6 Mirko Bortolotti ITA 1:38.285 +1.074
7 Ramon Pineiro ESP 1:38.310 +1.099
8 Mihai Marinescu ROM 1:38.352 +1.141
9 Benjamin Lariche FRA 1:38.654 +1.443
10 Kelvin Snoeks NED 1:38.655 +1.444
11 Max Snegirev RUS 1:38.753 +1.542
12 Mikkel Mac DEN 1:39.086 +1.875
13 Christopher Zanella SWI 1:39.244 +2.033
14 Thiemo Storz GER 1:39.384 +2.173
15 Armaan Ebrahim IND 1:39.401 +2.190
16 Sunghak Mun KOR 1:39.489 +2.278
17 Daniel Cammish GBR 1:39.729 +2.518
18 James Cole GBR 1:39.767 +2.556
19 Parthiva Sureshwaren IND 1:39.990 +2.779
20 Natalia Kowalska POL 1:40.264 +3.053
21 Jose Luis Abadin ESP 1:40.737 +3.526
22 Plamen Kralev BUL 1:41.382 +4.171
23 Alexey Karachev RUS 1:42.268 +5.057

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More