Formula Renault BARC

2011 Formula Renault BARC Championship Preview

4 Mins read

The 2011 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship is shaping up to be an intriguing season, with an exciting mix of series returnees and talented rookies set to compete over twelve races across the country. The increasingly popular series has grown into the best subscribed junior single-seater category in the UK, with twenty-one cars set to take to the grid at the series opener at Donington Park on April 23rd/24th.

Out of these, two drivers have stood out in pre-season testing as the early favourites for a championship charge, Archie Hamilton and Dino Zamparelli. Both drivers return to the series in which they competed in during 2009, with Zamparelli taking three wins on his way to third in the standings, while Hamilton took a best result of third as he finished ninth overall.

Over the winter, Fortec Motorsport's Hamilton and Antel Motorsport's Zamparelli have been inseparable at the top of the timesheets during the official tests. Zamparelli has led the way, but Hamilton has not been far behind, meaning the season is set for a close duel between the two.

A couple of drivers who have made late entries into the championship and are hoping challenge them for the title are Fortec pair Josh Webster and Keiran Vernon. 17 year old Webster returns to the series after impressing in his debut season in 2010, taking four podiums on his way to fourth in the main championship, before going on to win the BARC Winter Cup, taking three wins and three second places during the six race series.

Vernon was set to compete in the Porsche Carrera Cup GB this season after winning their Scholarship programme, but unable to raise the budget for the sportscar series, has instead moved back into single seater racing, after finishing fourth in last year's Formula Palmer Audi series with three race wins.

Leading the line-up for defending champions Hillspeed will be Indian racer Zaamin Jaffer. The Derbyshire based outfit took the title in 2010 with Alice Powell and hope 19 year old Jaffer can lead them in their defence of the crown. He comes into the series after two years in Formula Ford, in which he finished fourth in the Scholarship class in his debut season.

Also looking to impress for Hillspeed will be Howard Fuller. He took seventh in the 2010 Formula Palmer Audi championship, before making his Formula Renault debut in Winter Cup, taking three podiums on his way to third in the BARC points. Completing the line up at Hillspeed will be Sean Walkinshaw, son of the late Tom, who is making his car racing debut in 2011.

Returning to the series this year and looking for success are Scorpio Motorsport. The team won the series in its debut season in 2008 with Ollie Hancock and then won again in 2009 with Kieren Clark. They come back with Hampshire-based Hector Hurst, who has impressed throughout winter testing and is looking to mount a championship bid in his debut season in car racing.

Returning for a third season in the championship will be Steven Durrant, running for his own RPD Motorsport team. The Oxford-based racer took the 2009 Privateer Cup in the series, before taking thirteenth overall last year. For one round last season he came up against James Thorp, who returns to the series full time with Mtech after taking two seventh place finishes in the Thruxton finale.

Two driver's hoping to keep in touch with their team-mates at the front will be Spaniard Victor Jiminez, who joins Hamilton, Webster and Vernon at Fortec, and car racing rookie Callum Bowyer, the Peterborough driver working alongside Zamparelli at Antel.

A team making their debut in the full series this year after making their debut in the Winter Series are MGR Motorsport, led by renowned engineer Mark Godwin. Scottish racer David Wagner leads their line up after finishing runner up in the BARC class of the winter series and will be joined by two karting graduates, Nottingham-based Matt Mason and Yorkshireman Russell Danzey.

Returning for their second season in the championship is SWB Motorsport, who took a race win with Luke Wright in their debut season last year. Competing for the team in 2011 will be experienced driver Andrew  Jarman, who is set for his third full season in the BARC series, and three car racing newcomers, South African Raoul Owens, Northampton-based Macaulay Walsh and 18 year old Jack Dex from Daventry.

Completing the field for the series are two more fresh faces to the series, Chesterfield-based Tom Walker, running with JWA Racing, and Russian Ivan Taranov, competing with new team Daytona Motorsport.

Promoter of the series, Simon North commented: “We really are looking forward to an absolutely fantastic season. We have a great mix of experienced championship front-runners, exciting Formula Renault rookies and talented young karters making the step-up to cars for the first time. All in all we have every ingredient to make the 2011 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship season the best ever.”

For 2011, the championship is supported by headline sponsor Protyre and additional partners ELF, Michelin and NGK Spark Plugs.

Provisional 2011 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship Entry List:

#1  Howard Fuller   Hillspeed
#2  Archie Hamilton   Fortec Motorsport
#4  Kieran Vernon  Fortec Motorsport
#5  Josh Webster  Fortec Motorsport
#7  Callum Bowyer  Antel Motorsport
#8  Dino Zamparelli  Antel Motorsport
#9  Zaamin Jaffer  Hillspeed
#14 Matt Mason   MGR Motorsport
#17 Tom Walker   JWA Racing
#18 Steven Durrant  RPD Motorsport
#23 Russell Danzey  MGR Motorsport
#25 Victor Jimenez  Fortec Motorsport
#26 Macaulay Walsh  SWB Motorsport
#27 Jack Dex   SWB Motorsport
#28 Andrew Jarman  SWB Motorsport
#29 Raoul Owens   SWB Motorsport
#33 Sean Walkinshaw  Hillspeed
#35 Hector Hurst  Scorpio Motorsport
#36 James Thorp   MTech
#43 David Wagner  MGR Motorsport
#55 Ivan Taranov  Daytona Motorsport

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
Formula 1Formula Renault BARCFormula Renault UKW Series

Alice Powell Joins Alpine as Talent Identification and Development Mentor

2 Mins read
Alice Powell joins Alpine as talent identification and development mentor. She will help in finding young female talent, mentoring them into the Academy and Affiliate programme.
Formula Renault BARC

Formula Renault BARC: Where Are They Now?

4 Mins read
From IndyCar to FIA WEC, some of the most successful alumni from the Formula Renault BARC have impressively rose up the motorsport ranks.
Formula Renault 2.0Formula Renault BARC

Fischer Steps Up To Formula Renault ALPS For 2015

1 Mins read
American racer TJ Fischer will move into European competition for the first time this season with the new Salvador Duran Racing team.