Abarth Cancel 2011 GB Series

by Simon Paice

Motorsport Vision Racing (MSVR) has announced that the Trofeo Abarth 500 GB Championship will not take place in 2011.  After an internal review, Abarth have decided to pull the series, which made its debut in the UK last season.

The series proved a real hit in its opening year, attracting former British Touring Car Championship drivers Gareth Howell, Stefan Hodgetts, Fiona Leggate and Charlie Butler-Henderson, as well as proven tin top racers like 2008 Clio Cup Champion Ben Winrow.

It was Winrow who took the inaugural title, after picking up with three wins and eight other podium finishes in the twelve race season. Hodgetts took seven of the race wins, but lost out on the title after missing the opening rounds, while Howell was the other race winner, taking two wins.

The series, backed by Selenia, was set for another twelve race season in 2011, supporting a variety of series including Formula Two, DTM and British GT and F3. Races were set to take place at Oulton Park, the new Snetteron 300 circuit, Brands Hatch twice and Donington Park, as well as its first International race at the world-famous Spa Francorchamps.

However the series won't be continuing, with David Scott, Race Operations Manager of MSVR, commenting: “After being advised by Abarth of the decision, we are extremely disappointed that the championship will not take place in 2011. After all of our efforts it is a great shame that Abarth could not make this work at this time, as it has great potential to be a very successful championship in the UK .”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More