Formula Ford

Oulton Park Next Up For Formula Ford

1 Mins read

The stars of the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain are getting set to lock horns at Oulton Park this weekend for the latest rounds of the 2011 season. Silverstone hosted the opening rounds earlier this month and after an exciting weekend, the top six drivers head to Cheshire split by less than thirty points.

Topping the standings after the opening weekend is Dutch driver Jeroen Slaghekke, who took his maiden series win and a third place finish at Silverstone in his Jamun Racing Services Mygale. His closest rival is JTR's Australian Geoff Uhrhane, who is just seven points behind after winning round three.

Twenty year old Uhrhane is looking forward to the weekend, commenting: “It's a lot more of a driver's track than the Silverstone National circuit; it's very different and more challenging – a lot more corners and a lot more fun. I've done two days testing there and we plan another two before the races, so I should know it pretty well by then. Hopefully the car will be up to speed and we should be right.”

Uhrhane's Mygale  team-mate, Dan de Zille is hoping to take his first win of the year at Oulton, after taking two second places last time out, while JTR's third driver Tristan Mingay will also be hoping to add to a podium finish from Silverstone.

Also looking to impress at Oulton will be Slaghekke's Australian team-mate Spike Goddard and Nick McBride, Fluid Van Diemen's Matthew Parry and Finnish pairing, LMS's Antti Buri and RaySport's Jessse Anttila. Also hoping for a better weekend will be last year's championship runner-up Scott Malvern, who had a terrible weekend with his new Jamun team at Silverstone.

The Scholarship class battle is also set to be one to watch, with Cavan Corcoran leading the way after a good opening weekend, though Tockwith duo David Moore and Jake Jackson will be hot on his heels.

Provisional championship placings after round 3
1  Jeroen Slaghekke NED  Jamun Mygale  75 points
2  Geoff Uhrhane AUS  JTR Mygale  68
3  Dan de Zille JEY  JTR Mygale  62
4  Spike Goddard AUS  Jamun Mygale  52
5  Tristan Mingay GBR  JTR Mygale  50
6  Nick McBride AUS  Jamun Mygale  46 etc

Scholarship class
1  Cavan Corcoran GBR  Getem Mygale  93
2  David Moore GBR  Tockwith Ray  54
3  Jake Jackson GBR  Tockwith Ray  51

Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.

Leave a Reply