Single Seater Scholarship Signs Up Star Judges

Formula Renault champions Dean Smith and Kieren Clark have been announced as judges for a new racing scholarship. The Single Seater Star 2012 competition is offering drivers a prize of a fully-funded season in the 2012 Formula Renault BARC Championship, worth £100,000.

Smith won the 2009 Formula Renault UK Championship, before going on to secure the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, while Clark won the Formula Renault BARC Championship in the same year. They will oversee the contestants throughout the process, which begins in mid-August at Rye House and Three Sisters kart circuits.

Roger Belcher, Competitions Manager at Scholarship organiser Dreamcraft Competitions, said: “Dean and Kieren's achievements speak for themselves, they're both very quick, talented young drivers and the experience of Formula Renault they bring to the judging panel of our scholarship is second to none. We're absolutely delighted they've agreed to be involved, it only adds to the depth and professionalism of Single-Seater Star.

“Who better to assist the selection process than a past champion of the very series the prize is for and a Formula Renault UK Champion and McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winner? Kieren is actively coaching drivers in the BARC championship this year and Dean seriously impressed during a recent test with the Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 Team. They both bring a huge amount to the contest.”

The competition is open to anyone and costs a one-off entry fee of £469. To claim the prize, entrants will have to progress through three knock-out stages, before the Grand Final at Leicestershire's Bruntingthorpe Aerodrome on Tuesday, 27th September. For more information visit: