V8 Supercars

Van Gisbergen takes debut V8 race win

2 Mins read

Shane van Gisbergen has won his first V8 Supercar race at his home event, in the final 200km race in Hamilton, New Zealand.

The 21-year-old crossed the line just 0.78s clear of Fujitsu Racing's Lee Holdsworth with Garth Tander rounding out the podium from 19th on the grid.

“I can't believe it, I could hear the fans cheering and I was trying to keep concentrating,” said van Gisbergen. “It was pretty tough those last few laps. It was déjà vu like Sydney last year but I knew we had plenty of fuel this time – I'm stoked!

“When you have a whole nation behind you, it's hard not to get excited. I owe the boys some beers tonight!”

Having started fourth on the grid, van Gisbergen got past Jim Beam Racing driver Steve Owen at the very first corner. His big double-move came on laps 24 and 25, overtaking Post FPR's Will Davison, and then diving down the inside of race one winner Rick Kelly, to hit the front.

Following two late safety-car deployments, which bunched the field up, it all came down to the nine-lap sprint to the finish. But van Gisbergen held his nerve to claim the top-spot.

Several of the championship frontrunners hit trouble in the 59-lap race, including Toll Holden's James Courtney, who lasted just three laps before a collision with a tyre bundle ended his race; and Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom, both of whom were involved in a multi-car pile-up after Michael Caruso spun. Winterbottom's Ford was too badly damaged to continue, while Whincup limped to the pits for repairs to his Commodore and finished 18th, two laps down.

Jason Bargwanna was also caught up in the carnage and was forced to drive back blind to the pits with his bonnet up in front of his windscreen. The Jana Living Racing driver has had a difficult start to the season, having been involved in five accidents in six races so far.

Will Davison finished fourth for Trading Post FPR, with VIP Petfoods' Steve Owen scoring a personal best result in fifth.


The top 10 was completed by Jack Daniel Racing's Rick Kelly, Irwin Racing's Alex Davison, Russell Ingall of Supercheap Auto Racing, Jim Beam Racing's Steven Johnson and Team Vodafone's Craig Lowndes, who recovered from a drive through penalty for crossing the pit exit lane blend line.

The V8 Supercars now head to Perth for the Trading Post Perth Challenge at Barbagallo Raceway from 29 April to 1 May.

Race 6 results:

Pos Entrant Driver Vehicle Fastest Lap Fastest Lap Time Race Time Laps Points
1 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen Falcon FG 51 01:23:7211 01:34:19:8748 59 150
2 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Commodore VE2 38 01:23:6001 01:34:20:6575 59 138
3 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Commodore VE2 52 01:23:7157 01:34:26:0864 59 129
4 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Falcon FG 36 01:23:6569 01:34:28:2543 59 120
5 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Commodore VE2 39 01:23:8738 01:34:32:4021 59 111
6 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Commodore VE2 37 01:23:9474 01:34:35:1604 59 102
7 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Falcon FG 39 01:23:9425 01:34:35:2822 59 96
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Commodore VE2 42 01:24:1425 01:34:35:8649 59 90
9 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Falcon FG 40 01:24:7580 01:34:36:6180 59 84
10 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Commodore VE2 41 01:24:2323 01:34:38:5023 59 78
11 Team BOC Jason Bright Commodore VE2 37 01:24:0700 01:34:39:9275 59 72
12 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Falcon FG 40 01:24:7033 01:34:40:8585 59 69
13 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Commodore VE2 36 01:24:3033 01:34:43:5946 59 66
14 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Falcon FG 18 01:24:5185 01:34:43:9523 59 63
15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Commodore VE2 5 01:24:1576 01:34:47:9227 59 60
16 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Commodore VE2 19 01:25:3949 01:34:53:8513 59 57
17 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Falcon FG 40 01:24:0952 01:35:20:8381 59 54
18 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Commodore VE2 39 01:22:8973 01:34:50:3606 57 51
19 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Falcon FG 56 01:27:4979 01:35:22:0695 56 48
20 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Commodore VE2 27 01:25:1576 01:34:58:6723 48 45
DNF Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Falcon FG 40 01:24:1513 01:28:51:4257 55 0
DNF Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Commodore VE2 41 01:24:1609 01:28:53:1419 55 0
DNF Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Falcon FG 37 01:24:1484 01:11:53:2337 46 0
DNF Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Commodore VE2 3 01:24:4662 01:07:21:8631 43 0
DNF Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Commodore VE2 16 01:24:2822 31:38:3157 20 0
DNF Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Falcon FG 16 01:24:3296 29:26:3494 19 0
DNF Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Commodore VE2 6 01:24:7124 17:05:0665 9 0
DNF Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Commodore VE2 2 01:25:5818 04:54:9293 3 0


170 posts

About author
Andy is our resident V8 Supercars reporter. He also runs the V8 Supercars fan site www.v8scglobal.com and works as a freelance motorsport writer (with experience in both the World and British Touring Car Championships). You can find him on Twitter at @andychampness or contact him via his website www.andychampness.co.uk
Related posts
Off RoadV8 Supercars

Craig Lowndes returning to off-road racing with Finke Desert Race debut

2 Mins read
After a Prologue one-off in 2021, Supercars legend Craig Lowndes will enter the Finke Desert Race for real in June in a special Chevrolet Silverado ZR2.
NASCAR Cup SeriesV8 Supercars

Brodie Kostecki set for NASCAR debut at IMS with RCR

2 Mins read
Brodie Kostecki, currently second in the Supercars Championship, will be the next driver from his day job to race in NASCAR as he joins RIchard Childress Racing at Indy.
NASCAR Cup SeriesV8 Supercars

Shane van Gisbergen set for NASCAR debut at Chicago

2 Mins read
3× Supercars champion Shane van Gisbergen’s long-awaited NASCAR Cup début will take place in July at the Chicago Street Race with Trackhouse Racing Team.