V8 Supercars

Bright storms through to take race two at Winton

3 Mins read

Jason Bright pulled out a stunning drive in the closing laps to clinch victory for Team BOC in the second V8 Supercar race at the Winton Motor Raceway.

Bright had started eighth on the grid, but profiting from a different pit strategy to his rivals, he stormed into contention in the final stages of the 67-lap race.

Making his first stop on lap 25, four laps after race-leader Team Vodafone's Jamie Whincup, he emerged fifteenth. Ploughing through the field, he climbed 6 places before stopping for the final time with just 20 laps to run.

Exiting in eighth, Bright was the fastest man on the road, moving up to fourth over five laps. With 15 laps to go he was fifteen seconds adrift. But as the drivers ahead found their rubber fading, he began reeling them in at over two-seconds a lap, passing Michael Caruso of Fujitsu Racing GRM on lap 62 and Toll Holden Racing Team's Garth Tander on lap 63. And with just three laps remaining, he rocketed past Whincup to claim his second win of the season. The win moves him to fourth.

“I'm very happy,” said Bright. “We did it hard this weekend. We didn't have the qualifying car but we had the racecar though. The race pace was just awesome.

“I thought we'd gone for the wrong strategy but we just kept coming and coming!”

After trading blows throughout the race, Whincup and Tander held on for second and third respectively. Both overtook pole-man Orrcon Steel FPR's Mark Winterbottom before the first round of pit-stops, with Tander muscling past Whincup for the lead just before half-distance. Unable to build a gap from Whincup, both drivers pitted on lap 43 nose-to-tail. But a flawless pit stop saw Whincup leap-frog Tander in the pitlane. Both powerless to withstand Bright's late attack, Tander was also fortunate to hold off a charging Shane van Gisbergen of SP Tools Racing, who finished fourth. Running the same strategy as Bright, Bundaberg Racing's Fabian Coulthard then came through to fifth, clear of Michael Caruso, Team Vodafone's Craig Lowndes, Jim Beam Racing team-mates Steven Johnson and James Moffat, and VIP Petfoods driver Steve Owen.

Defending champion James Courtney's hopes of back-to-back titles took yet another blow. After a poor qualifying session left him starting in 20th, the Toll Holden Racing Team driver was then involved in a seven-car pile-up on lap three which left his Commodore badly damaged  and which eliminated Supercheap Auto Racing's Russell Ingall and Jack Daniels Racing's Todd Kelly. Pitting for repairs, Courtney returned to the circuit seven laps down, eventually finishing 25th. He now trails Whincup by 618 championship points.

The next round of the V8 Supercars Championship, the SKYCITY Triple Crown, takes place from the 17-19 June at the Hidden Valley Raceway in Darwin.

Race 10 results:


Pos Entrant Driver Vehicle Fastest Lap Fastest Lap Time Race Time Laps Points
1 Team BOC Jason Bright Commodore VE2 51 01:24:0774 01:40:15:5814 67 150
2 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Commodore VE2 2 01:24:0641 01:40:17:1800 67 138
3 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Commodore VE2 2 01:24:2412 01:40:18:5452 67 129
4 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen Falcon FG 20 01:24:0298 01:40:18:8437 67 120
5 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Commodore VE2 53 01:24:2513 01:40:27:1401 67 111
6 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Commodore VE2 18 01:24:0831 01:40:27:1606 67 102
7 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Commodore VE2 2 01:24:2331 01:40:31:8691 67 96
8 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Falcon FG 2 01:24:2356 01:40:32:9092 67 90
9 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Falcon FG 23 01:24:4523 01:40:33:1378 67 84
10 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Commodore VE2 8 01:24:8871 01:40:43:1635 67 78
11 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Commodore VE2 2 01:24:7877 01:40:48:0821 67 72
12 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Falcon FG 20 01:24:2686 01:40:52:0889 67 69
13 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Falcon FG 2 01:24:4374 01:40:54:0071 67 66
14 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Commodore VE2 46 01:24:2271 01:40:55:1803 67 63
15 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Commodore VE2 19 01:24:3759 01:40:55:5533 67 60
16 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Falcon FG 7 01:24:9955 01:40:56:3219 67 57
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Commodore VE2 2 01:24:2450 01:40:56:3534 67 54
18 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Falcon FG 25 01:24:4628 01:40:56:7817 67 51
19 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Falcon FG 2 01:24:3392 01:40:58:8762 67 48
20 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Commodore VE2 2 01:24:4709 01:41:06:0142 67 45
21 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Commodore VE2 22 01:24:9571 01:41:15:9350 67 42
22 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Commodore VE2 2 01:24:5628 01:41:29:2144 67 39
23 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Commodore VE2 45 01:24:3997 01:41:31:4675 67 36
24 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Falcon FG 2 01:25:1393 01:41:07:4827 61 33
25 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Commodore VE2 33 01:24:4808 01:40:41:6235 60 30
DNF Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Falcon FG 7 01:24:9843 24:05:0146 15 0
DNF Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Commodore VE2 2 01:25:2628 03:00:7803 2 0
DNF Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Commodore VE2 2 01:25:3681 03:01:3468 2 0


Related posts
British GTBritish SuperbikeDTMF4 British ChampionshipFeaturesFIA World RallycrossFormula 1Formula EIndyCarV8 Supercars

TCF PICKS 2017: Moment of the year

7 Mins read
The TCF Team chooses their moments from the 2017 that stuck out to them
IndyCarV8 Supercars

Simona de Silvestro not ruling out Indy 500 return

1 Mins read
The ‘Swiss Miss’ Simona de Silvestro is not ruling out a return to the Indianapolis 500 despite committing herself to racing in Australia in Supercars.
Global RallycrossV8 Supercars

Tony Cochrane heads to Red Bull GRC

1 Mins read
Ex-V8 Supercars man joins Red Bull GRC as a special advisor to the board

Leave a Reply