V8 Supercars

Bright takes victory in crash-marred race

2 Mins read

Jason Bright won the second race of the Trading Post Perth Challenge, giving Brad Jones Racing their first ever V8 Supercar race win. But it was his team-mate, Karl Reindler who stole all the headlines.

A horrific crash on the start line between Reindler and Paul Morris Motorsport driver Steve Owen resulted in Reindler's car being engulfed in flames.

Reindler had stalled on the grid and was stationary when Owen, unsighted, ran into the rear of his car at high speed.

Both drivers were cleared of any serious injury, but Reindler had to receive treatment for superficial burns to his hands and face.

The race was red flagged and delayed to clean up the two destroyed cars, but did eventually get underway.

Jason Bright made the most of the restart, overtaking pole sitter Team Vodafone's Jamie Whincup into the first corner. He then led to the finish, taking his first win in 138 races.

A clearly delighted Bright said: “We have done it tough over the last couple of rounds but I knew we had the potential to win races. We really showed it today, but now we have just got to keep rolling.”

It was a double celebration for Brad Jones Racing, as Jana Living Racing's Jason Bargwanna claimed his first podium since 2004, hunting down and passing Craig Lowndes of Team Vodafone for third on the final lap of the race.

“That was fun!” said Bargwanna. “Today we got it right in qualifying, which makes a big difference. With about five laps to go I saw Lowndes ahead of me and thought there's no way he's going to hold me out.”


Lowndes finished fourth with Stone Brothers Racing drivers Tim Slade and Alex Davison doing well to come home fifth and sixth. Garth Tander of Toll Holden Racing Team, Will Davison of Trading Post FPR, Lee Holdsworth of Fujitsu Racing and Shane van Gisbergen of SP Tools Racing rounded out the top 10.

Race 8 results:

Pos Entrant Driver Vehicle Fastest Lap Fastest Lap Time Race Time Laps Points
1 Team BOC Jason Bright Commodore VE2 2 00:56:4600 49:03:8794 50 100
2 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Commodore VE2 2 00:56:9296 49:08:3346 50 92
3 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Commodore VE2 30 00:56:8156 49:14:5386 50 86
4 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Commodore VE2 16 00:56:6094 49:16:3668 50 80
5 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Falcon FG 32 00:56:8960 49:16:6025 50 74
6 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Falcon FG 3 00:57:0005 49:20:3248 50 68
7 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Commodore VE2 23 00:56:9719 49:21:3080 50 64
8 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Falcon FG 27 00:57:0033 49:37:7140 50 60
9 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Commodore VE2 2 00:57:2739 49:43:5462 50 56
10 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen Falcon FG 4 00:57:7562 49:51:0935 50 52
11 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Commodore VE2 27 00:56:4272 49:51:9086 50 48
12 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Commodore VE2 32 00:56:8637 49:53:3024 50 46
13 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Falcon FG 28 00:57:0660 49:55:8144 50 44
14 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Falcon FG 3 00:57:2226 49:59:3097 50 42
15 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Falcon FG 34 00:57:8492 49:59:4020 50 40
16 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Commodore VE2 2 00:57:0642 50:01:3122 50 38
17 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Falcon FG 23 00:56:9523 50:02:5151 50 36
18 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Commodore VE2 26 00:57:4976 49:06:0253 49 34
19 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Falcon FG 29 00:57:5850 49:06:3369 49 32
20 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Commodore VE2 26 00:57:0792 49:06:3756 49 30
21 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Falcon FG 3 00:57:5346 49:20:5694 49 28
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Commodore VE2 2 00:57:7969 49:21:5269 49 26
23 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Commodore VE2 3 00:57:6613 49:25:6135 49 24
24 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Commodore VE2 3 00:57:6228 49:55:8409 49 22
25 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Commodore VE2 2 00:57:8643 49:06:8224 48 20
26 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Commodore VE2 2 00:57:3491 50:00:9954 40 18
DNF VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Commodore VE2 00:00:0000 00:00:0000 0 0
DNF Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Commodore VE2 00:00:0000 00:00:0000 0 0



Avatar photo
170 posts

About author
Andy is our resident V8 Supercars reporter. He also runs the V8 Supercars fan site www.v8scglobal.com and works as a freelance motorsport writer (with experience in both the World and British Touring Car Championships). You can find him on Twitter at @andychampness or contact him via his website www.andychampness.co.uk
Related posts
Off RoadV8 Supercars

Craig Lowndes on Finke debut: "I'm a race driver so I want to try and beat our class, but we've got some stiff competition"

2 Mins read
Supercars legend Craig Lowndes is eager to put the Chevrolet Silverado ZR2 Off-Road Racer to the test in his maiden Finke Desert Race and return to off-road competition.
Off RoadV8 Supercars

Craig Lowndes returning to off-road racing with Finke Desert Race debut

2 Mins read
After a Prologue one-off in 2021, Supercars legend Craig Lowndes will enter the Finke Desert Race for real in June in a special Chevrolet Silverado ZR2.
NASCAR Cup SeriesV8 Supercars

Brodie Kostecki set for NASCAR debut at IMS with RCR

2 Mins read
Brodie Kostecki, currently second in the Supercars Championship, will be the next driver from his day job to race in NASCAR as he joins RIchard Childress Racing at Indy.