Higgins declared Olympus Winner

Britain’s David Higgins was named the victor of this weekend’s Olympus Rally, which was shortened to only six stages after a fatal accident during the day left the rally community in a state of shock.

Higgins victory was declared after six competitive stages. as he led rival Antoine L’Estage by some fifteen seconds.

The win is Higgins’ first American rally event won by the Brit, since his back-to-back SCCA ProRally Championship seasons in 2002 and 2003.

Prior to the season, Subaru Rally Team USA’s Higgins and Rockstar Mitsubishi’s L’Estage were tipped to be the runaway two at the top of the standings, but this has not been the case. The pair have traded first and second places on the past two events, but both retired on the season opener, which sees them languishing behind the leading duo of Travis Hanson and Dave Mirra..

Hanson and Mirra have delivered three rallies of the utmost consistency, which has been the obvious basis for their championship assaults.

The outright points leader remains Hanson, who finished fifth on the Olympus, and in doing so recorded his third class victory of the year, and also saw him retain the lead of the overall standings, a position he has held since the season opening Sno*Drift.

Pat Richard made a one-off outing in the Rally America National Championship on the Olympus, and was classified third at the end.

The shortening of the Olympus Rally was as a mark of respect for Matthew Marker, who sadly passed away after a tragic accident on the event.

The next round of the championship is the Oregon Trail Rally, Portland. The event will run May 13th to 15th.