Formula Ford

Malvern Seals Perfect Hat Trick At Snetterton

4 Mins read

Scott Malvern made it six wins out of six in the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain with a clean sweep of the victories around the new Snetterton 300 circuit. Driving for Jamun, he dominated the weekend, repeating his feat from last time out at Oulton Park.

Qualifying though went the way of JTR's Geoff Uhrhane, who edged out Jamun trio Malvern, championship leader Jeroen Slaghekke and Nick McBride during the twenty minute session, with LMS' Antti Buri and Enigma's Phillipe Layac lining up on the third row. Matthew Parry, was the first non-Mygale pilot in his Fluid-run Van Diemen, coming seventh.

Both front-row starters made a great getaway at the start of Round Seven and 2010 vice-champion Malvern was able to edge past Uhrhane at Riches to take the lead. However his lead was short lived, with a good run out of Murrays at the end of the opening lap seeing the Australian find his way back past at Riches.

Slaghekke held third, with McBride in close company, followed by Layac, Parry and Buri, while behind, a mid-pack tangle at Riches on lap two delayed both Dan de Zille and Spike Goddard.  

At the front, Malvern kept in Uhrhane's wheel tracks and worked his way back into the lead on lap three, while behind McBride had made his way into third, after a mistake for Dutchman Slaghekke at Coram, though he made his way back through around mid-distance.

Malvern began to pull away and his job was made easier when Uhrhane's Mygale ground to a halt on lap nine, forcing him to retire. This left Malvern with a clear run to the line, winning by 5.5 seconds from team-mates Slaghekke and McBride, picking up there fifth and fourth podiums of the season respectively.  

A strong run in the latter stages saw Finnish racer Buri work his way up to fourth ahead of Neil Alberico, who produced a stunning drive to finish fifth from twelfth on the grid. Layac finished sixth ahead of Tristan Mingay and De Zille, after local driver Parry retired on lap five. Ninth overall and the winner of the Scholarship class was Cavan Corcoran, the sole contender in the class this weekend.

Uhrhane took three poles, but suffered two DNF's.

Round Eight saw Uhrhane start from pole one again and he did well to hold off a quick starting Malvern into Riches for the first time, who was quickly demoted to third after a move by Slaghekke in the Infield. Slaghekke was soon into the lead, sliding past Uhrhane, who then dropped to third behind Malvern.

The front three broke away at the front, with Parry next up, leading Buri, McBride and American Alberico. Ahead, Slaghekke edged away slightly as Uhrhane pressured Malvern, but his advantage was only short-lived, when a costly mistake on lap four dropped him to third, promoting Malvern into the lead.

He pulled away to win by over two seconds from Uhrhane, with Slaghekke third, despite a spin at Hamilton on lap seven. Behind, the next pack were trading positions throughout the race, with Jerseyman de Zille emerging in fourth after a superb drive from eighth on the grid. AirAsia Team Lotus F1 backed driver Parry took fifth ahead of McBride and Buri, Jake Cook finished eighth, with Layac and Alberico completing the top ten.

McBride (3) and Jeroen Slaghekke (1) took two podiums each at Snetterton.

Starting from pole once again for Round Nine, Uhrhane produced another good start, but could only hold the lead until the hairpin, where Malvern slid past. Behind them, Buri moved up to third ahead of Slaghekke, however earlier contact between de Zille and Goddard at Agostini ended both their races.

This caused a single lap safety car period and at the restart, Malvern led away, with Uhrhane coming under pressure from Buri and Slaghekke. The trio ran extremely close and something had to give, with Uhrhane ending up spinning out of the race at Riches, with the unfortunate Mingay also caught up in the incident after having nowhere to go.

Buri to recovered to second, quite a way back from Malvern, ahead of McBride, with Slaghekke dropping to twelfth after the incident. A superb battle emerged for fourth between Cook, Parry, Layac and Alberico, with Parry quickly moving into fourth, leaving Cook and Layac battling hard for fifth until the latter's engine caught fire at Agostini on lap eight.

Ahead, Malvern romped away for his seventh win in nine races, moving him to within four points of Slaghekke's championship lead. McBride finished second after an early move on Buri at the Esses, with the Finn taking third. A superb recovery drive for Slaghekke saw him take fourth, with Jesse Antilla fifth ahead a great drive from thirteenth on the grid.

A sensational career-best sixth place went to Scholarship runner Corocoran, taking his ninth consecutive class win in the process. Seventh after a spin on lap eight was Parry, with David Ellesley and Ville Kivinen completing the top ten in their Juno and Ray respectively.

Triple race winner Malvern commented: “It's absolutely mega. When we first came here testing I knew I liked the new circuit and everything has just gone right for us again. The car is under me all of the time, I know what it'll do and that gives you a lot of confidence. Looking ahead to Brands, I have experience there from last year so we should definitely be on the front-foot.”

Photo Credit: Chris Gurton Photography

Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.

Leave a Reply