IRCOff Road

Neuville Wins Opening Pair Of Tour De Corse Stages

1 Mins read

Belgian youngster Thierry Neuville made a surprisingly commanding start to the Tour de Corse by winning the rally's opening pair of stages on Thursday afternoon.

The Peugeot Belgium-Luxembourg driver scored an impressive podium result on the previous round of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge in the Canary Islands and began the Corsican event in even better form by recording the fastest time on both runs through the 27.53 km Le Fangu-Notre Dame de la Serra stage.

Jan Kopecky was second fastest on the opening run and then third on the second run. The Skoda Motorsport driver is second overall, 8.9 seconds behind Neuville.

Monte Carlo Rally winner Bryan Bouffier is third for Peugeot France, taking the position from Skoda UK's Andreas Mikkelsen on stage two. Bouffier had complained of a problem with his steering wheel at the end of the first stage, but this problem was solved in the service break between the two runs through the stage.

Freddy Loix is fifth in his BFO Skoda, moving ahead of Peugeot UK's Guy Wilks by going second quickest to compatriot Neuville on the second stage after stiffening his car's rear suspension between the two stages. Despite losing eight seconds with a spin on the opening stage, Wilks completed the first test just 9.7 seconds down on Neuville, but the deficit to his Kronos stablemate on the next stage was two tenths larger.

Local man Pierre Campana was seventh quickest on both runs through the stage and holds the same position on the overall leaderboard in his 207. Bruno Magalhaes is eighth for Peugeot Sport Portugal, with Toni Gardemeister ninth in his own TGS Worldwide entered-Skoda. Julien Maurin rounds out the top ten in his M-Sport Ford Fiesta.

Outside of the top ten, Patrik Sandell is 13th on his IRC debut with Skoda Sweden, while Toshi Arai is 16th on the debut of the R4-specification Subaru Impreza. Florian Gonon leads the Production Cup in 15th overall, just behind 2WD Cup leader Pierre-Antoine Guglielmi.

Top ten positions after SS2:

Pos. No Driver Team Car Time/Gap
1 5 Thierry Neuville Peugeot Belux Peugeot 207 32:08.0
2 4 Jan Kopecky Skoda Å koda Fabia +8.9
3 1 Bryan Bouffier  Peugeot France Peugeot 207 +12.4
4 6 Andreas Mikkelsen Skoda UK Å koda Fabia +13.8
5 2 Freddy Loix  BFO Skoda Å koda Fabia +19.2
6 3 Guy Wilks Peugeot UK Peugeot 207 +19.6
7 10 Pierre Campana Munaretto Peugeot 207 +25.0
8 7 Bruno Magalhaes Peugeot Portugal Peugeot 207 +39.6
9 8 Toni Gardemeister TGS Worldwide Å koda Fabia +54.6
10 11 Julien Maurin Privateer Ford Fiesta +1:19.5
Related posts
Off Road

Great American Short Course launched as LOORRS successor, four rounds planned in spring and fall

2 Mins read
After the demise of the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series left a gap in short course off road racing on the West Coast U.S., Great American Short Course aims to fill that hole with 4 weekends in 2021.
FIA World Rally ChampionshipOff Road

Arctic Rally Finland Replaces Sweden on 2021 WRC Calendar

1 Mins read
Arctic Rally Finland will host the second round of the 2021 FIA World Rally Championship between February 26-28.
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Kristoffersson Wins Controversial Final on Barcelona Day Two

2 Mins read
Johan Kristoffersson has finally broken his Sunday curse and taken a win on a Sunday after a controversial eighth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Barcelona.

Leave a Reply