General Formula 3Open Wheel

Wittmann Takes First 2011 Win In Zandvoort Race 3

1 Mins read

Marco Wittmann scored his and the Signature team's first victory of a disappointing campaign so far in the third race of the Formula 3 Euro Series round at Zandvoort.

The German began the race from pole position and held off an attack from Felix Rosenqvist early on to win. Rosenqvist and fellow Mucke driver Nigel Melker remained in pursuit of Wittmann for the entirety of the race but had to settle for second and third respectively.

“My start was good, but I had a lot of work defending my first place against Felix in the first few laps,” said Wittmann after the race. “It seems that the Mucke cars were quicker in the opening stages. Then, I was able to pull a slight gap and to keep it. All in all, today was a good day for us.”

Rosenqvist scored his third podium finish of the weekend. “On the opening lap, I tried to attack Marco. When I wasn't successful, I decided to rather save my tyres and wait for him to make a mistake. With three podium finishes, the weekend here at Zandvoort was better than I had expected.”

Melker added: “I am happy with my third place. My race wasn't error-free, but I am a rookie and I am still allowed to learn.”

Roberto Merhi finished fourth for Prema, with Daniel Abt of Signature fifth. Remaining Signature drivers Laurens Vanthoor and Carlos Munoz finished sixth and eighth respectively, split by Motopark's Jimmy Eriksson.

A third and two fourth-place finishes were enough to see Merhi extend his points lead to 23 points. A retirement for teammate Daniel Juncadella saw him drop from second to fifth place in the standings behind Wittmann, Rosenqvist and Melker. The next race weekend takes place at the newly-revamped Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, Austria on 4/5 June.

Race results after 26 laps:

1.  Marco Wittmann    Signature    40m02.351s
2.  Felix Rosenqvist    Mucke    + 1.345s
3.  Nigel Melker    Mucke    + 2.080s
4.  Roberto Merhi    Prema    + 6.881s
5.  Daniel Abt    Signature    + 18.824s
6.  Laurens Vanthoor   Signature    + 24.714s
7.  Jimmy Eriksson    Motopark    + 25.928s
8.  Carlos Munoz    Signature    + 26.416s
9.  Kuba Giermaziak    Star    + 35.203s
10.  Kimiya Sato    Motopark    + 35.876s
11.  Gianmarco Raimondo  Motopark    + 41.559s
Ret.  Daniel Juncadella   Prema    22 laps

Avatar photo
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
IndyCarOpen Wheel

McLaren powers through multiple issues during Indy 500 qualifying

2 Mins read
Arrow McLaren had a rough start to their Indy 500 qualifying, but things quickly improved towards the end of the session.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Indy 500 practice notebook: Fast Friday/Saturday Morning

2 Mins read
Fast Friday is in the books at IMS. Some teams handled it better than others, with the Chevy cars running faster than the Hondas.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Indy 500 practice notebook: Day 3

3 Mins read
Another day of Indy 500 practice is done, and it was another day plagued by rain. Before drops fell, teams got six hours on track.