Formula Ford

Brands Hatch To Host Formula Ford History

1 Mins read

A new chapter in Formula Ford history will begin this weekend at Brands Hatch, when the Kent circuit hosts the first ever rounds of the Formula Ford EuroCup. The races will run alongside the latest rounds of the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain, with Brands proving an appropriate venue, coming 44 years, almost to the day, since it hosted the first-ever Formula Ford race.

The EuroCup sees drivers from the European and Scandinavian Formula Ford championships join their compatriots from the UK competing at four tracks. After Brands, the series will head to Spa-Francorchamps and Zolder in Belgium, and then the Dutch track of Zandvoort, with a EuroCup Champion declared at each event.

A field of around 30 cars is expected at Brands Hatch, with drivers from the Netherlands, Belgium and Denmark joining the British championship regulars. A large number of Dutch Championship contenders are expected to race, including Geva Racing's Steijn Schothorst and Provily Racing duo Michel Florie and Bas Schouten, each of whom claimed a race win in the Dutch season-opening Zandvoort meeting. Also in action will be Danish championship leader Jesper Egebart.

For the British championship drivers, the three Brands races are vital as the series reaches mid-season. Ilford's Scott Malvern looks poised to retake the championship lead after winning the last six races for Jamun Racing Services, breaking a modern era record for the most number of consecutive wins. Leading the way is his Dutch team-mate Jeroen Slaghekke, while making it a Jamun 1-2-3 in the championship is the team's Australian racer Nick McBride.

The only non-Jamun race winner so far this season is Geoff Uhrhane, who won the third Silverstone race in his JTR Mygale. The Australian only sits sixth in the points though, having made the podium only once since, a few points adrift of team-mate Dan de Zille.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.

Leave a Reply