IRCOff Road

Hanninen Wins Yalta Rally In Ukraine

2 Mins read

Juho Hanninen scored his second win of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge season with victory on the Prime Yalta Rally in Ukraine, a new event to the calendar.

A ten second penalty for a jump start on the second of two opening stages on Thursday left the reigning champion 11th at the start of Friday’s action. Corsica winner Thierry Neuville (Peugeot Belgium Luxembourg) was the early pacesetter, winning the opening stage and remaining in the lead until a spin on SS5 left him beached for three minutes, dropping him to ninth.

Bryan Bouffier (Peugeot France) inherited the lead, but by this point Hanninen had already recovered to second place, just 5.7 seconds behind. Hanninen moved into the lead after winning SS7, and finished Friday with a lead of 8.2s over Bouffier.

Bouffier reduced the gap to 5.1s on Saturday morning, but Hanninen was quicker than his rival through the final loop of stages on Saturday afternoon to win by 11.7s.

Jan Kopecky moved into third place when Neuville spun and remained there to give the Skoda factory team a double podium finish. After suffering a puncture on Friday morning, Skoda UK driver Andreas Mikkelsen showed strong pace but was unable to overhaul Kopecky.

Mikkelsen’s counterpart Guy Wilks of Peugeot UK also suffered a puncture on Friday, restricting him to fifth place having run second to Neuville early on. Neuville himself recovered to finish sixth, despite being another to suffer a puncture. Toni Gardemeister finished seventh in his TGS Skoda, with Estonian youngster Karl Kruuda eighth on his IRC debut and Patrik Sandell ninth in two more Fabias. The top ten was rounded out by top 2WD Cup runner Jean-Michel Raoux in his Renault Clio.

Hanninen’s victory moves him back to the top of the standings, three points ahead of Kopecky. Bouffier and Neuville are nine and ten points off Hanninen in third and fourth respectively. Freddy Loix has dropped from the championship lead to fifth after not attending the rally. The next round is the Ypres Rally in Belgium on 23-25 June.

Top ten finishers after 14 stages:

1. Juho Hanninen Skoda Motorsport 2h54m14.0s
2. Bryan Bouffier Peugeot France + 11.7s
3. Jan Kopecky Skoda Motorsport + 38.7s
4. Andreas Mikkelsen Skoda UK + 57.3s
5. Guy Wilks Peugeot UK + 4m00.4s
6. Thierry Neuville Peugeot Belux + 5m01.5s
7. Toni Gardemeister TGS Skoda + 7m59.3s
8. Karl Kruuda ME3 Skoda + 10m01.3s
9. Patrik Sandell Skoda Sweden + 18m08.9s
10. Jean-Michel Raoux 100% Renault + 21m42.9s

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts

Tony Stewart sweeps SRX dirt races with Eldora win

2 Mins read
Racing at his Eldora Speedway in his Camping World SRX Series, Tony Stewart became the series’ first multi-time winner.

SRX co-founder Tony Stewart wins inaugural dirt race at Knoxville

2 Mins read
Camping World SRX Series co-founder Tony Stewart won his creation’s first-ever non-pavement points race on the dirt at Knoxville.
NASCAROff RoadSim Racing

SRX: The Game set for 28 May launch before inaugural season

2 Mins read
The Superstar Racing Experience’s inaugural season doesn’t start until June, but that’s not stopping them from already releasing a video game. SRX: The Game comes out for PS4, Xbox One, and PC on 28 May.

Leave a Reply