Historic Tenth Woodpecker Win For Burton

Club rallying legend Andy Burton continues to re-write the history books after the Herefordshire farmer won the Woodpecker Stages Rally for an incredible tenth time in his one of a kind Peugeot-Cosworth.

Due to a change of regulations, Burton's unique Peugeot is being forcibly retired at the end of the season, much to the disappointment of its legions of fans across the country. Burton is giving it a superb final swansong though, having already clinched the 2011 BTRDA Rally Championship back in July, the first driver in the series 58 year history to win the title four times.

Burton and his co-driver Robin Kellard didn't have it all their own way on the popular 130-car Woodpecker event, with Roger Chilman and Andrew Sankey leading after the first three stages in their Subaru Impreza WRC, however after overcoming early overheating problems, Burton was on a charge and stormed through to take the rally win by over 40 seconds.

Also tasting success on the Woodpecker was Warren Philliskirk and co-driver Matt Whattam, the duo securing the 2011 BTRDA Historic Cup in their Ford Escort MKII.