Muller Fastest In First Practice In Valencia

1 Mins read

Yvan Muller set the pace in first free practice for the World Touring Car Championship round at Valencia's Ricardo Tormo Circuit, as Chevrolet filled the top three positions.

Muller was six tenths clear of teammate Alain Menu. Championship leader Rob Huff was only 0.031s behind the Swiss driver in third place.

Tom Coronel was not far behind the Chevrolets in fourth place, less than a tenth behind Menu in his ROAL Motorsport BMW. Robert Dahlgren was next up in the Polestar Volvo, followed by the Sunred duo of Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro who won the two races at the Spanish track last year.

Franz Engstler was the best of the Yokohama Trophy runners in eighth, fresh from his outright victory at Oschersleben. He was joined in the top ten by Norbert Michelisz and Michel Nykjaer.

Darryl O'Young did not set a time due to a power steering failure on his Bamboo Chevrolet. Debutant David Sigacev was 19th of the 20 drivers to set a time in his KK Motorsport-entered BMW.

Free Practice 1 times:

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap Laps
1 Yvan Muller Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:42.936   10
2 Alain Menu Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.579 0.643 10
3 Robert Huff Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.610 0.674 10
4 Tom Coronel ROAL BMW 320 TC 1:43.673 0.737 13
5 Robert Dahlgren Polestar Volvo C30 Drive 1:43.885 0.949 5
6 Gabriele Tarquini Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:44.041 1.105 5
7 Tiago Monteiro Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:44.183 1.247 13
8 Franz Engstler Engstler BMW 320 TC 1:44.593 1.657 7
9 Norbert Michelisz Zengo BMW 320 TC 1:44.695 1.759 13
10 Michel Nykjaer Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:44.921 1.985 11
11 Javier Villa Proteam BMW 320 TC 1:45.078 2.142 14
12 Fredy Barth Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:45.091 2.155 11
13 Pepe Oriola Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:45.201 2.265 11
14 Stefano D’Aste Wiechers BMW 320 TC 1:45.204 2.268 16
15 Aleksei Dudukalo Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:45.416 2.480 9
16 Yukinori Taniguchi Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:45.758 2.822 13
17 Kristian Poulsen Engstler BMW 320 TC 1:45.857 2.921 15
18 Mehdi Bennani Proteam BMW 320 TC 1:46.021 3.085 15
19 David Sigacev KK BMW 320 TC 1:47.123 4.187 11
20 Fabio Fabiani Proteam BMW 320si 1:50.231 7.295 14
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.

Leave a Reply