Muller Tops Another Chevrolet 1-2-3 In Disrupted Second Session

1 Mins read

Yvan Muller topped the timesheets again in a disrupted second free practice session at Valencia's Ricardo Tormo Circuit, with the three factory Chevrolets filling the top three positions just like they had earlier on.

Mehdi Bennani had brought out the yellow flags with a spin at Turn 14 early on in the session, and a few minutes later the red flags were out after Fabio Fabiani crashed at Turn 1.

Muller was in P1 when the session was eventually restarted with 20 minutes left on the clock. He soon improved his time to a 1:43.050, which would remain the best time until the end of the session.

Though Rob Huff improved upon his effort after the restart, he was soon bumped down to third place due to an impressive time from home racer Pepe Oriola. His Sunred teammate Tiago Monteiro moved into second place in the final ten minutes, though the Portuguese ace was still over a second adrift of Muller's benchmark.

Alain Menu and Huff both improved in the closing stages to form another Chevrolet 1-2-3, though Menu was nine tenths shy of Muller's time with Huff just 0.021s further behind.

Monteiro and Oriola slipped to fourth and fifth, ahead of Kristian Poulsen, Gabriele Tarquini and Tom Coronel. Aleksei Dudukalo and Yukinori Taniguchi both impressed to make it into the top ten.

Robert Dahlgren only completed four laps in his Polestar Volvo as the team changed the turbo on his car.

Free Practice 2 times:

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap Laps
1 Yvan Muller Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.050   11
2 Alain Menu Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.954 0.904 11
3 Robert Huff Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:43.975 0.925 12
4 Tiago Monteiro Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:44.191 1.141 14
5 Pepe Oriola Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:44.515 1.465 13
6 Kristian Poulsen Engstler BMW 320 TC 1:44.873 1.823 14
7 Gabriele Tarquini Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:44.896 1.846 13
8 Tom Coronel ROAL BMW 320 TC 1:45.091 2.041 15
9 Aleksei Dudukalo Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:45.272 2.222 12
10 Yukinori Taniguchi Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:45.366 2.316 14
11 Javier Villa Proteam BMW 320 TC 1:45.384 2.334 12
12 Franz Engstler Engstler BMW 320 TC 1:45.526 2.476 15
13 Robert Dahlgren Polestar Volvo C30 Drive 1:45.609 2.559 4
14 Fredy Barth Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:45.734 2.684 13
15 Norbert Michelisz Zengo BMW 320 TC 1:45.807 2.757 13
16 Darryl O’Young Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:45.883 2.833 14
17 Michel Nykjaer Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:45.968 2.918 9
18 David Sigacev KK BMW 320 TC 1:46.705 3.655 11
19 Stefano D’Aste Wiechers BMW 320 TC 1:46.942 3.892 13
20 Fabio Fabiani Proteam BMW 320si 1:52.175 9.125 4
21 Mehdi Bennani Proteam BMW 320 TC 12:41.101 10:58.051 1
Avatar photo
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.