Muller Wins First Valencia Race To Take Championship Lead

1 Mins read

Yvan Muller has taken the lead of the World Touring Car Championship standings after victory in the first race at Valencia, as Rob Huff missed out on a podium finish after contact from Chevrolet teammate Alain Menu.

Polesitter Muller lost the lead of the race at the start after Gabriele Tarquini made a good start from third on the grid to move down the inside of the Chevrolet duo of Muller and Huff. Huff tried to challenge Muller for second later round the lap but was then hit by Menu, who had in turn been hit by Tiago Monteiro. Huff lost out, dropping down the order.

Muller took the lead back from Tarquini at Turn 2 on the fourth lap. The Italian was passed for second by Menu a few laps later and then slowed and retired with a misfire.

Behind Muller and Menu, Tom Coronel completed the podium after passing Tiago Monteiro. Monteiro then fell behind Kristian Poulsen, the recovering Huff and Javier Villa. While Poulsen finished fourth, Huff had to hold onto fifth under pressure from Villa in the closing laps.

Norbert Michelisz and Monteiro finished close behind in seventh and eighth, with Robert Dahlgren and Stefano D'Aste completing the top ten.

Race 1 results – 14 laps:

Pos Driver Team Car Time/Gap
1 Yvan Muller Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 25:39.052
2 Alain Menu Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1.103
3 Tom Coronel ROAL BMW 320 TC 6.345
4 Kristian Poulsen Engstler BMW 320 TC 9.961
5 Robert Huff Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 15.404
6 Javier Villa Proteam BMW 320 TC 15.630
7 Norbert Michelisz Zengo BMW 320 TC 16.206
8 Tiago Monteiro Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 16.665
9 Robert Dahlgren Polestar Volvo C30 Drive 16.777
10 Stefano D’Aste Wiechers BMW 320 TC 17.139
11 Michel Nykjaer Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 18.962
12 Pepe Oriola Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 23.362
13 Aleksei Dudukalo Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 26.603
14 Yukinori Taniguchi Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 28.955
15 Darryl O’Young Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 44.967
16 Fabio Fabiani Proteam BMW 320si 1:37.597
17 Gabriele Tarquini Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T +4 laps
18 David Sigacev KK BMW 320 TC +4 laps
19 Fredy Barth Sunred Sunred SR Leon 1.6T +4 laps
NC Franz Engstler Engstler BMW 320 TC +5 laps
Ret Mehdi Bennani Proteam BMW 320 TC 4 laps
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.