Formula 2

Bortolotti Denies Local Duo In First Qualifying At Barcelona

1 Mins read
Mirko Bortolotti - Photo Credit: FIA Formula Two Championship

Mirko Bortolotti - Photo Credit: FIA Formula Two Championship

FIA Formula Two Champion Mirko Bortolotti has claimed pole position for the first of the season-ending races at Barcelona, denying locally born drivers Miki Monras and Ramon Pineiro in the process.

Monras set the early pace in the session, while Bortolotti waited for his moment to hit the track. The Italian went out in the middle part of the session, when the track was clear, and moved into P1 with a time that remained good enough for the rest of the session.

“We took a bit of a gamble today by saving one set of new tyres for the race instead of using them during qualifying,” said Bortolotti. “The car felt good though and we felt we just needed one run although hoping we didn’t get a red flag. I thought it might not be enough for pole as Miki has looked quick all weekend but I’m very happy with pole position and I’m looking forward to the race.”

Monras was two tenths slower than Bortolotti in second place, with fellow Barcelona racer Pineiro climbing the timesheets during the session to place third on his 20th birthday.

Practice pacesetter Tobias Hegewald was fourth fastest, ahead of Mihai Marinescu and Christopher Zanella, who this weekend hopes to hold onto second place in the standings under pressure from Pineiro.

Jack Clarke edged out Alex Brundle to be top Brit in seventh, with Mikkel Mac and Benjamin Lariche rounding out the top ten.

The 15th and penultimate race of the season gets underway at 14:25 local time.

Barcelona, qualifying one results:

1. Mirko Bortolotti, 1:37.874s
2. Miki Monras, +0.192s
3. Ramon Pineiro, +0.474s
4. Tobias Hegewald, +0.550s
5. Mihai Marinescu, +0.642s
6. Christopher Zanella, +0.818s
7. Jack Clarke, +0.823s
8. Alex Brundle, +0.851s
9. Mikkel Mac, +0.914s
10. Benjamin Lariche, +1.153s

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
Formula 1Formula 2

Bearman will look to Emulate Piastri’s Preparations Ahead of his own Future F1 Promotion

2 Mins read
Oliver Bearman knows he will need to prepare as much as he can in order to be ready to race in Formula 1, and says the way Oscar Piastri did it shows what he needs to do.
Formula 1Formula 2

Doohan Rejects 2024 Racing Opportunities in a bid for 2025 Formula 1 Race Seat

1 Mins read
Jack Doohan has revealed he has turned down chances to race in other categories next season as he focuses on forcing his way into Formula 1 in 2025.
Formula 1Formula 2

Formula 2 Frontrunner Bearman to Make Formula 1 Practice Debut with Haas in Mexico City

1 Mins read
Oliver Bearman will get a first taste of Formula 1 machinery in first practice for the Mexico City Grand Prix later this month with Haas.