Honda To Power Dale Coyne Racing In 2012

1 Mins read
Dale Coyne Racing's no.19 during the 2011 season (Photo Credit: Indycar)

Dale Coyne Racing's no.19 during the 2011 season (Photo Credit: Indycar)

Dale Coyne Racing announced today that its two-car effort will be powered by Honda engines in 2012.

Under the terms of the agreement, Honda Performance Development (HPD) will provide all Dale Coyne Racing entries with its 2.2l Honda Indy V6 for the entire 2012 IZOD IndyCar campaign and Indianapolis 500.

“Dale Coyne Racing has been one of IndyCar's most durable teams, with a history that extends for nearly 30 years.” said Erik Berkman, president of Honda Performance Development and vice president, corporate planning and logistics, for American Honda. “It's great to have them racing with us in 2012. Dale's team has made great strides in recent seasons, and he has made moves this off-season to further improve. We're looking forward to continuing our association with him in 2012.”

Dale Coyne Racing joins Chip Ganassi Racing, A.J. Foyt Racing, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing and Sam Schmidt Motorsports as the Honda-powered teams in 2012.

We have felt a part of the Honda family from their first days in CART back in the early 1990s till today,” commented DCR team owner Dale Coyne. “We are very pleased to enter this next stage of IndyCar history with a company so dedicated to winning and rich in successful motorsports heritage like Honda. Together we hope to accomplish great things in 2012.”

58 posts

About author
Michael is currently studying Motoring Journalism at the University for the Creative Arts in Farnham, Surrey. You can follow him on Twitter at Google+ Profile
Related posts
IndyCarNASCAR Cup SeriesOff Road

Parnelli Jones, 1933–2024

2 Mins read
Parnelli Jones, one of the most versatile racers of all time with victories at the Indianapolis 500, Baja 1000, NASCAR Cup Series, among others, died Tuesday after a battle with Parkinson’s.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Newgarden goes back-to-back in thrilling, rain-delayed Indy 500 win over O'Ward

4 Mins read
Josef Newgarden took the high line over Pato O’Ward on the lap 200 to go back-to-back at the Indy 500 for the first time since 2002.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Best Bets: Indy 500

1 Mins read
The Indy 500 returns to Indianapolis for the 108th time. Read here for some of the best bets for Sunday’s race.