Manor Competition Leave Formula Renault UK

by Simon Paice

Manor Competition Are Leaving Formula Renault UK After A Poor 2011 Season - Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography


Multiple championship winning team Manor Competition have left the Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship to focus on European racing.

Established in 1990, Manor have become the most successful team in the UK championship's history, winning the drivers' championship on multiple occasions, including with Dean Smith (2009), Oliver Jarvis (2005), Lewis Hamilton (2003), Kimi Raikkonen (2000) and Antonio Pizzonia (1999). The team have also produced five winners of the prestigious McLaren Autosprot BRDC Award, the latest being Lewis Williamson in 2010.

Last season saw the team endure its worst season for many years. The team's driver line up of Josh Hill, Alice Powell and Jordan King picked up just one podium finish between them through the season, meaning it was the first time since 2006 that a Manor driver has not won a race in a UK Renault season.

The team are now moving to compete in the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup championship, launching a partnership with MP Motorsport. The cars will continue to run in Manor's distinctive black and red livery, showcasing their continued partnership with the Marussia F1 team, with King set to drive one of three cars next season. The MP/Manor team are also set to run up to six cars in the Formula Renault Northern European Cup.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More