NASCAR Cup Series

Martin Truex Draws Shootout Pole

1 Mins read
Martin Truex draws pole position with TV host Kenny Wallace (Photo Credit: Jerry Markland/Getty Images for NASCAR)

Martin Truex draws pole position with TV host Kenny Wallace (Photo Credit: Jerry Markland/Getty Images for NASCAR)

The grid for this weekend's Budweiser Shootout was decided by random draw on Friday evening.  Michael Waltrip Racing driver Martin Truex Jr. will start from pole, alongside Kyle Busch, while defending champion Kurt Busch starts from 6th on his debut with Phoenix Racing.  Colombian Juan Pablo Montoya drew the short straw and will start from the back for Chip Ganassi, although he was one of the fortunate ones who managed to miss the big wreck that occurred in practice yesterday, when 2011 Sprint Cup champion Tony Stewart spun Kurt into the path of Kyle and luckless Penske Racing team-mates Brad Keselowski and AJ Allmendinger


The full grid is as follows:


  1. Martin Truex Jr., Michael Waltrip Racing
  2. Kyle Busch, Joe Gibbs Racing
  3. Brad Keselowski, Penske Racing
  4. Jamie McMurray, Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates
  5. David Ragan Front Row Motorsports
  6. Kurt Busch, Phoenix Racing
  7. Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing
  8. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Hendrick Motorsports
  9. AJ Allmendinger, Penske Racing
  10. Joey Logano, Joe Gibbs Racing
  11. Carl Edwards, Roush Fenway Racing
  12. Jeff Burton , Richard Childress Racing
  13. Ryan Newman, Stewart-Haas Racing
  14. Jeff Gordon, Hendrick Motorsports
  15. Tony Stewart, Stewart-Haas Racing
  16. Denny Hamlin, Joe Gibbs Racing
  17. Clint Bowyer, Michael Waltrip Racing
  18. Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports
  19. Kasey Kahne, Hendrick Motorsports
  20. Michael Waltrip, Michael Waltrip Racing
  21. Marcos Ambrose, Richard Petty Motorsports
  22. Kevin Harvick, Richard Childress Racing
  23. Matt Kenseth , Roush Fenway Racing
  24. Paul Menard, Richard Childress Racing
  25. Juan Pablo Montoya, Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates
Related posts
NASCAR Cup Series

Go Fas Racing slowing down to part-time Cup schedule in 2021

2 Mins read
Go Fas Racing will slow down to a part-time effort in 2021. Specifics of the team’s future were not immediately disclosed, but the charter has reportedly been sold to Matt Tifft and B.J. McLeod.
NASCAR Cup Series

Hamlin/Jordan NASCAR team to be named 23XI Racing, fielding #23 for Bubba Wallace

1 Mins read
Denny Hamlin and Michael Jordan’s new NASCAR team with Bubba Wallace has revealed its name and number: 23XI Racing and the #23 car.
NASCAR Cup Series

Erik Jones joins Richard Petty Motorsports for 2021

2 Mins read
Erik Jones will take over the legendary #43 of Richard Petty Motorsports for the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season.

Leave a Reply