British Superbike

Brookes On Pole After Dramatic Qualifying Session

2 Mins read
Josh Brookes - Photo Credit: Motorsport Vision

Josh Brookes - Photo Credit: Motorsport Vision


Josh Brookes will start the opening race of the 2012 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship from pole position after coming out on top in an eventful qualifying session. Unpredictable weather threw the session wide open and a number of shock casualties in the knockout sessions have created an unusual grid.

Tommy Hill was the biggest surprise with the reigning champion crashing during Q1. The Swan Yamaha rider crashed at Graham Hill bend without posting a representative time and couldn't keep himself out of the drop zone. He will begin his title defence from 29th while his former teammate Michael Laverty also faces an uphill task in race one after qualifying 21st.

Rain fell in the closing stages of Q1, leaving the Indy circuit wet for the remaining sessions, and Alastair Seeley came unstuck on the Tyco Suzuki, ending up in 13th. His teammate made it safely through though and got the better of Jon Kirkham to claim pole position in the final session, a quarter of a second ahead of the Samsung Honda debutant.

Shane Byrne narrowly avoided elimination in Q2 but placed the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki on the front row while Tristan Palmer produced the shock of the day to join him on the front row. The New Arley rider is racing for the GBmoto squad who are competing in their debut BSB campaign but that didn't stop him going fourth quickest on their Honda CBR1000RR.

There's an international flavour to row two with Freddy Foray in fifth position on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki. Fellow BSB newcomer Noriyuki Haga will start alongside in sixth and will carry the victory hopes of Swan Yamaha in the opening race tomorrow. Tommy Bridewell is seventh on the grid for the Italian Supersonic BMW team while Michael Rutter will start eighth on the MSS Bathams Kawasaki.

Stuart Easton will make his BSB return from ninth on the grid ahead of the two Padgetts Hondas, Luca Scassa and Ian Lowry while Gary Mason starts 12th, just in front of Seeley's Suzuki.


2012 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship

Round 1: Brands Hatch Indy (Qualifying Result)

Pos Rider Bike Team Time/Gap
1  Josh Brookes Suzuki Tyco Suzuki 52.877
2  Jon Kirkham Honda Samsung Honda +0.278
3  Shane Byrne Kawasaki Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +0.484
4  Tristan Palmer Honda GBmoto Racing +0.708
5  Freddy Foray Kawasaki Quattro Plant Kawasaki +0.890
6  Noriyuki Haga Yamaha Swan Yamaha +0.934
7  Tommy Bridewell BMW Supersonic Racing Team +0.970
8  Michael Rutter Kawasaki MSS Bathams Kawasaki +1.006
9  Stuart Easton Kawasaki Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +1.619
10  Luca Scassa Honda Padgetts Racing +1.649
Eliminated In Q2
11  Ian Lowry Honda Padgetts Racing 54.082
12  Gary Mason Kawasaki Quattro Plant Kawasaki 54.133
13  Alastair Seeley Suzuki Tyco Suzuki 54.324
14  Graeme Gowland Honda Team WFR 54.384
15  Peter Hickman Kawasaki MSS Bathams Kawasaki 54.385
16  Chris Walker Kawasaki Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki 54.427
17  Patric Muff BMW Supersonic Racing Team 54.541
18  Luke Quigley Honda GBmoto Racing 55.063
19  Barry Burrell BMW Buildbase BMW Motorrad 56.062
20  Florian Marino Aprilia Splitlath Redmond Racing 56.299
Eliminated In Q1
21  Michael Laverty Honda Samsung Honda 50.606
22  James Westmoreland Honda Team WFR 50.662
23  Scott Smart Ducati Moto Rapido Racing 50.724
24  Dan Linfoot BMW Buildbase BMW Motorrad 50.849
25  James Hillier Kawasaki Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki 50.881
26  Alex Lowes Honda Team WFR 51.173
27  Aaron Zanotti Suzuki A-Plant Suzuki 51.241
28  Alex Polita Ducati Jentin Doodson Motorsport 51.485
29  Tommy Hill Yamaha Swan Yamaha 51.931
30  John Laverty Aprilia Splitlath Redmond Racing 51.999
31  Jenny Tinmouth Honda Hardinge Honda 52.968
32  Tom Tunstall Ducati Jentin Doodson Motorsport 53.772
33  Abdulaziz Binladin Ducati Moto Rapido Racing 56.275

Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
British SuperbikeDakarRoad Racing

Isle of Man TT winner James Hillier set for Dakar Rally debut in 2023 Malle Moto

2 Mins read
After a delay, James Hillier will make his first Dakar Rally start in 2023. Riding in the Malle Moto class, he will be the first Isle of Man TT winner to challenge Dakar.
British Superbike

Exclusive interview with Ben Luxton

3 Mins read
Getting to know one of the UK’s rising talents. Here’s an exclusive interview with British Superstock 600 rider Ben Luxton
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.