Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
Formula Renault BARC

Three New Additions Boosts Bumper Formula Renault BARC Grid

2 Mins read

2011 Formula Renault BARC Vice-Champion Josh Webster Makes An Unexpected Return - Photo Credit: Simon Paice


The grid for the 2012 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship is continuing to grow ahead of the opening rounds of the series this weekend at Snetterton, with 2011 series vice-champion Josh Webster amongst three new drivers confirmed for the series.

Webster was set to compete in the Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship prior to the postponement of the series, forcing him to make an unexpected late return to the BARC series. Last year, Webster took three wins as he took the championship battle down to the final race and the Stowmarket-based racer will be an early favourite for the championship with new team MGR Motorsport.

2010 champions Hillspeed have confirmed a return to the series, after looking set to drop out for the season. The team, which has the capacity to field four cars, will have two on the grid at Snetterton for Danish racer Jacob Nortoft and 2010 Formula Ford 1600 Castle Combe champion Marcus Allen.

The news comes after the recent additions of Scott Malvern and Jorge Cevallos to the grid with Cliff Dempsey Racing and Mtech Lite respectively. This means 25 cars will take to the grid for the opening three rounds this weekend, with SWB Motorsport only running a single car for Jack Dex and privateer Max Robinson missing the opening rounds, joining the series next time out at Rockingham.

Championship Promoter Simon North said: ”It's absolutely fantastic for the championship to have Josh and Scott joining us”, said North, “It's common knowledge they're two of the UK's very best single-seater drivers, we're delighted to have them racing with us this year. Obviously we know Josh well from last year when he was very close to winning the championship and Scott's record speaks for itself – it'll be an intriguing season.

“We always want to see as many of our teams on the grid as possible so we're also delighted to see Hillspeed back with two cars and SWB with Jack, who did such a good job in the Silverstone test. All in all, this looks set to be a truly memorable season for Protyre Formula Renault BARC.”

2012 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship entry list: Snetterton 200 – 7th/8th April

No. Driver   Nationality  Team

02 Chris Middlehurst  GBR  Middlehurst Motorsport GTR

03 Trent Hindman USA  Cliff Dempsey Racing

04 Scott Malvern  GBR  Cliff Dempsey Racing w/Cullen Motorsport

05 Ivan Taranov  RUS  Antel Motorsport

06 Raoul Owens  GBR  Antel Motorsport

07 Tom Oliphant  GBR  Antel Motorsport

08 Henry Chart  GBR  Antel Motorsport

09 Josh Webster  GBR  MGR Motorsport

13 Oliver Sirrell  GBR  ACS Motorsport

16 Henrique Baptista BRA  Scorpio Motorsport

20 Macaulay Walsh GBR  Scorpio Motorsport

21 Laura Tillett  GBR  Fortec Motorsport

25 Jake Dalton  GBR  MGR Motorsport

26 Diego Menchaca MEX  Fortec Motorsport

27 Jack Dex  GBR  SWB Motorsport

30 Michael Epps  GBR  JWA-Avila

31 Seb Morris  GBR  Fortec Motorsport

33 Sean Walkinshaw  GBR  MTECH Lite

36 Jorge Cevallos  MEX  MTECH Lite

43 David Wagner  GBR  MGR Motorsport

44 Jacob Nortoft  DEN  Hillspeed

49 Marcus Allen  GBR  Hillspeed

55 Matt Tiffin  GBR  JWA-Avila

66 James Fletcher  GBR  MGR Motorsport

88 Martin Cao  CHN  Fortec Motorsport

Related posts
Formula Renault BARC

Formula Renault BARC: Where Are They Now?

4 Mins read
From IndyCar to FIA WEC, some of the most successful alumni from the Formula Renault BARC have impressively rose up the motorsport ranks.
Formula Renault 2.0Formula Renault BARC

Fischer Steps Up To Formula Renault ALPS For 2015

1 Mins read
American racer TJ Fischer will move into European competition for the first time this season with the new Salvador Duran Racing team.
Formula Renault BARCFormula Renault UK

No UK Formula Renault For 2015

2 Mins read
Plans to revive Formula Renault UK have been scrapped, meaning there will be no British Formula Renault series for the first time since 1988.

Leave a Reply