Citroen DS3 For Star Driver Winner

Pirelli and Citroen Racing have agreed terms to run a Citroen DS3 R3 as part of next year’s Pirelli UK Star Driver scheme.

The scheme see’s Pirelli give a driver a fully funded MSA British Rally Championship campaign, with last year’s winner Jukka Korhonen driving a Skoda Fabia R2 run by TEG Sport.

The DS3 has been a popular choice for entrants in this season’s BRC, with current championship leader and former Star Driver winner Keith Cronin amongst those running one.

Mark Donnelly, Matthew Cathcart, Tom Cave, Jussi Kumpumaki and Osian Pryce have so far been nominated to contest the end of season Star Driver shootout, with one more driver to be selected after the season’s closing round, International Rally Yorkshire. Garry Pearson has also been given an automatic nomination after being recently-crowned the British Junior Rally Champion.

Pirelli UK motorsport operations manager, Matthew Corby, commented: “We are also looking forward to working with Citroen in 2013 and running the Citroen DS3 R3 for the very first time. The car has proved itself as a worthy contender for winning championship titles and we feel our Pirelli Star Driver package for 2013 is the best yet.”