British Rally Championship

BRC Returns To Seven-Round Format For 2013

1 Mins read

Ahead of next weekend’s season ending Rally Yorkshire, the organisers of the MSA British Rally Championship have announced its calendar for 2013.

The main changes sees the Scottish Rally return to the calendar after seven year’s away, moving the series back to a seven-round format. The new-look calendar also see’s Rally North Wales back as the opening round of the series, with Rallye Sunseeker, the season opener in 2012, moving to October to host the season finale.

Alongside those, the Pirelli Rally, Jim Clark Rally, Rally Northern Ireland and Rally Yorkshire remain.

“We are delighted to welcome the return of the classic Scottish Rally which is also a successful round of the Scottish Rally Championship,” said BRC’s Mark Taylor. “It has always been our intention to run a seven round series, particularly as our teams found events to fill their summer break. The overall cost of the extra event is balanced by the reduction in per-event budgets through changes in regulations and formats.”

2013 MSA British Rally Championship calendar:

Round 1: 6/7 April – Rally North Wales, Welshpool, (Gravel)
Round 2: 4/5 May – Pirelli Rally, Carlisle, Cumbria (Gravel)
Round 3: 30 May /1 June – Jim Clark Rally, Duns, Scottish Borders (Asphalt)
Round 4: 29 June – Scottish Rally, Dumfries (Gravel)
Round 5: 23/24 August – Rally NI, Northern Ireland (Asphalt)
Round 6: 28/29 Sept – Rally Yorkshire, Scarborough, North Yorkshire (Gravel)
Round 7: 19 October – Rallye Sunseeker*, Bournemouth/Poole (Gravel)

Best 5 scores to count. Rallye Sunseeker scores x 1.5 points.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
British Rally Championship

Nicky Grist Stages given green light but no spectators allowed

2 Mins read
Second round of the British Rally Championship given the go ahead but no spectators will be allowed on the Epynt Ranges.
British Rally Championship

Sam Moffett takes British Rally Championship opener at Oulton Park

2 Mins read
Sam Moffett increased his pace throughout the day at the Neil Howard Stages to claim his debut BRC victory.
British Rally Championship

Motorsport UK British Rally Championship kicks off 2021 season with Oulton Park opener

2 Mins read
The British Rally Championship finally returns after a 15 month lay-off with an event based entire at Oulton Park circuit.