British Superbike

BSB Silverstone: Lowes Storms To Dominant Pole Position

3 Mins read

Alex Lowes continued his strong form in the British Superbike Championship showdown with a second successive pole position at Silverstone. The WFR Honda youngster, 36 points off the overall lead, was the thick end of a second clear of the opposition with Tommy Hill and Michael Laverty, other two riders with work to do, completing the top three.

Lowes was the man to beat all day, setting the fastest time in final practice, and his quickest time in Q2 would’ve actually secured pole position in Q3, such was his level of dominance. As it was, Lowes found eight tenths of a second to comfortably outpace Hill with Laverty pipping championship leader Josh Brookes to third. Shane Byrne will start race one from fifth but that will have been a relief to the Londoner who escaped a high speed crash at Chapel on Friday.

But Lowes will be the man to watch on race day and stands a good chance of keeping his title challenge alive heading to the Brands Hatch finale. The 22 year old is optimistic that he can go one better than Assen and convert pole into race victory.

“That was a pretty good lap – we had struggled a bit with tyre choice and had changed the bike settings a lot and practice had gone OK. I had felt pretty quick all of the way across the weekend and the bike is feeling good, so we will see what happens now in the races. I am going to enjoy them and I really want podium finishes tomorrow.”

Tommy Hill is also in need of two podium finishes at the very least as he looks to claw back Brookes’ 22 point advantage and the first task will be to avoid the pre-race trouble that rocked him last weekend.

“It is good to be back on the front row and hopefully we won’t have any more stunts tomorrow in the races! We have knuckled down again and have been getting on with business as we really want wins bad. Qualifying was good for us and we have made good changes each session. We can’t have any excuses and we know where we need to be for the races tomorrow. We need to get stuck in and get some results to get points in the bag and move forward. I am feeling pretty confident and we need to go out to get results tomorrow to try and win this championship again.”

The sixth title challenger Tommy Bridewell is already starting to slip out of contention after being knocked out in Q2. The Supersonic BMW rider will start tomorrow’s opener from twelfth on the grid behind Jakub Smrz with the remaining places in the top ten taken by Chris Walker, James Westmoreland, Barry Burrell, Peter Hickman and Danny Buchan.


2012 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship

Round 11: Silverstone (Qualifying Result)

Pos Rider Bike Team Time/Gap
1  Alex Lowes  Honda Team WFR 2:05.662
2  Tommy Hill  Yamaha Swan Yamaha +0.825
3  Michael Laverty  Honda Samsung Honda +0.891
4  Josh Brookes  Suzuki Tyco Suzuki +1.040
5  Shane Byrne  Kawasaki Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +1.113
6  Chris Walker Kawasaki Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki +1.492
7  J Westmoreland Honda Team WFR +1.767
8  Barry Burrell BMW Buildbase BMW Motorrad +1.782
9  Peter Hickman BMW Buildbase BMW Motorrad +1.878
10  Danny Buchan Kawasaki MSS Bathams Kawasaki No Time
Eliminated In Q2 (P10: 2:07.487)
11  Jakub Smrz Aprilia Splitlath Redmond Racing 2:07.601
12  Tommy Bridewell  BMW Supersonic Racing Team 2:07.777
13  Luca Scassa Honda Padgetts Racing 2:07.866
14  Patric Muff BMW Supersonic Racing Team 2:08.006
15  Ian Lowry Honda Padgetts Racing 2:08.060
16  Jon Kirkham Honda Samsung Honda 2:08.209
17  Stuart Easton Kawasaki Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 2:08.211
18  Karl Harris Kawasaki Quattro Plant Kawasaki 2:08.267
19  Noriyuki Haga Yamaha Swan Yamaha 2:08.403
20  Scott Smart Ducati Moto Rapido Racing 2:08.955
Eliminated In Q1 (P20: 2:08.921)
21  Robbin Harms Honda Doodson Motorsport 2:08.980
22  Matteo Baiocco Ducati Moto Rapido Racing 2:09.079
23  Alastair Seeley Suzuki Tyco Suzuki 2:09.153
24  Tristan Palmer Honda GBmoto Racing 2:09.331
25  Luke Quigley Honda GBmoto Racing 2:09.334
26  Michael Rutter Kawasaki MSS Bathams Kawasaki 2:09.380
27  John Laverty Kawasaki Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki 2:10.780
28  Troy Herfoss Aprilia Splitlath Redmond Racing 2:12.444
29  Tom Tunstall Honda Doodson Motorsport 2:12.476
30  Jenny Tinmouth Honda Hardinge Honda 2:13.967
31  Aaron Zanotti Suzuki A-Plant Suzuki No Time
 Championship Challenger


5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
British Superbike

Exclusive interview with Ben Luxton

3 Mins read
Getting to know one of the UK’s rising talents. Here’s an exclusive interview with British Superstock 600 rider Ben Luxton
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.
British Superbike

British Superbikes announce a tweaked Qualifying format for 2020

1 Mins read
British Superbikes have a new Qualifying format for the 2020 season.