Trio To Make Sunred Returns In Asia

3 Mins read
Hiroki Yoshimoto - Photo Credit: WTCC Media

Hiroki Yoshimoto, Fredy Barth and Andre Couto will all be back behind the wheel of a Sunred-prepared SEAT Leon between now and the end of the 2012 World Touring Car Championship season.

Former GP2 racer Yoshimoto made his WTCC debut with the Spanish squad at his home event at Suzuka last season and will now make a repeat appearance at the Japanese race weekend on 21 October driving the same Leon powered by Sunred’s 1.6 litre engine that has been raced by Tiago Monteiro so far this season. Monteiro makes his first appearance with the factory Honda team at Suzuka.

Macau local Couto will take over the Sunred-powered machine for his home event. The winner of the Formula 3 Grand Prix in 2000, he has entered the WTCC round every time since it began in 2005 and driven SEATs for the past three years.

Barth will make his return for the events in Shanghai and Macau in a SEAT Leon WTCC model – powered by SEAT’s turbo engine but run by Sunred under the same SEAT Swiss Racing banner he used in his full-season campaigns in 2010 and 2011. His Macau trip last year came to an early end after a fiery crash in practice.

“Macau is a unique racetrack,” said Barth. “I have mixed feelings of hate and love. I love it because is challenging, but on the other hand I never managed to finish a race there. It will be difficult trying to go fast despite last year’s accident. But this is part of being a professional driver and for sure I have to settle the score with the Guia circuit.

“Coming back to WTCC was my goal. And I am delighted we managed to achieve it. I will do my best and I know that my car, powered by the new SEAT turbo engine, is very competitive. Let’s wait and see.”

In addition to Sunred’s additions, there are as usual a number of local entrants for Macau. The China Dragon Racing outfit will enter three Chevrolet Lacettis for Felipe De Souza, who entered last year’s races in a Corsa Motorsport Lacetti, as well as Kin Veng Ng and Celio Alves Dias.

Felipe De Souza and Mak Ka Lok - Photo Credit: WTCC Media

De Souza and Mak will be back for more after their WTCC debuts at Macau last year – Photo Credit: WTCC Media

Joseph Rosa Merszei will drive a Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320si for the fourth consecutive year, Mak Ka Lok will be in a RPM Racing Team BMW like last year while Henry Ho Wai Kun will enter his own BMW after previous appearances in 2009 and 2010.

Finally, Eurico De Jesus will make his WTCC debut in a privately-entered Honda Accord Type-R.

FIA WTCC Guia Race of Macau – Provisional Entry List
No. Driver Team Car
1 Yvan Muller Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
2 Robert Huff Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
3 Gabriele Tarquini Lukoil Racing Team SEAT León WTCC
4 Aleksei Dudukalo Lukoil Racing Team SEAT León WTCC
5 Norbert Michelisz Zengö Motorsport BMW 320 TC
6 Franz Engstler Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320 TC
7 Charles Kaki Ng Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320 TC
8 Alain Menu Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
11 Alex MacDowall bamboo-engineering Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
14 James Nash Team Aon Ford Forcus S2000 TC
15 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport BMW 320 TC
16 Alberto Cerqui ROAL Motorsport BMW 320 TC
18 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda Civic WTCC
20 Darryl O’Young bamboo-engineering Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T
22 Tom Boardman Special Tuning Racing SEAT León WTCC
23 Tom Chilton Team Aon Ford Forcus S2000 TC
25 Mehdi Bennani Proteam Racing BMW 320 TC
26 Stefano D’aste Wiechers-Sport BMW 320 TC
32 TBA Special Tuning Racing SEAT León WTCC
46 Fredy Barth Sunred Engineering SEAT León WTCC
50 Felipe C. De Souza China Dragon Racing Chevrolet Lacetti
51 Kin Veng Ng China Dragon Racing Chevrolet Lacetti
53 Celio Alves Dias China Dragon Racing Chevrolet Lacetti
66 André Couto Tuenti Racing Team Sunred SR León WTCC
74 Pepe Oriola Tuenti Racing Team SEAT León WTCC
77 Joseph Rosa Merszei Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320si
78 Mak Ka Lok RPM Racing Team BMW 320si
80 Henry Ho Wai Kun Ho Wai Kun BMW 320si
81 Eurico De Jesus Eurico De Jesus Honda Accord Type-R
88 Fernando Monje Tuenti Racing Team SEAT León WTCC
Related posts
TCR EuropeTCR International SeriesTCR UKWTCC

TCR Series Roundup - 24th March 2019

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the recent news and results from the various TCR Series competing around the world that has been released over the past seven days
TCR International SeriesWTCCWTCR

WTCC becomes WTCR in TCR regulations adoption

1 Mins read
The World Touring Car Championship will become the World Touring Car Cup in 2018 as the series adopts the succesful TCR concept…
TCR International SeriesWTCC

TCR and WTCC in rumoured merge for 2018

1 Mins read
A merge is expected between the TCR International Series and the WTCC ahead of the 2018 season, as the WTCC seeks to save its championship.

Leave a Reply