British Rally ChampionshipOff Road

2012 Champions Crowned At BRC Bash

1 Mins read

The stars of the 2012 MSA British Rally Championship were recognised last weekend during the annual awards evening, affectionately known as “The BRC Bash”, at the Manchester Hallmark Hotel.

Elfyn Evans was one of the night’s big winners, picking up the newly dedicated Rory Galligan Award for Outstanding Performance and Greenlight Television Award for his professionalism in front of the camera, microphone and notepad, alongside his awards for his BRC Class 6 and Fiesta SportTrophy successes.

The Todds Leap International Rally N.I. took the Rally of the Year award for the third time in four years, with all six 2012 BRC events receiving a memento photograph of their event from championship manager Mark Taylor.

All three registered manufacturers, Citroen, Ford and Renault, were represented during the event, with Citroen UK’s Press Officer Katie Read collecting the MSA British Manufacturers Rally Championship trophy, while former Ford of Europe Motorsport Director Mark Deans and Renault UK’s Communications Director Jeremy Townsend handing out awards.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula 1Off Road

Nikita Mazepin jumps to rally raid, expected to run Silk Way Rally

2 Mins read
Exiled from Formula One with no other international racing options, Nikita Mazepin is highly likely to go rally raiding with the Silk Way Rally in July.
Nitro RallycrossOff Road

ERX Motor Park faces local challenges, questions about future

5 Mins read
ERX Motor Park, host of Championship Off-Road and Nitro Rallycross, and its expansion plans are targets of local opposition due to noise/traffic complaints. Both sides made their cases to the city on Monday.

Slinger Speedway gets dirty with SODA

3 Mins read
A short course off-road racing series on a quarter-mile paved oval track intended for stock cars? That’s what SODA did at Slinger Speedway. While SODA is only in its second year, Slinger’s interest in an off-road race dates way back.