British Rally Championship

Donnelly Wins 2012 Pirelli Star Driver Award

1 Mins read

Mark Donnelly and his co-driver Dai Roberts have become the latest winners of the MSA British Rally Championship’s Pirelli Star Driver Shootout.

The 21 year old fended off competition from Tom Cave, Matthew Cathcart, Jussi Kumpumaki, Osian Pryce and Garry Pearson, to secure the prize, becoming the sixth recipient of the scheme’s prize, a fully funded season in the BRC.

Northern Irishman Donnelly won the season opening Rallye Sunseeker on his way to ninth in the 2012 BRC standings in his Renault Clio R3.

The six finalists were assessed on their driving abilities, piloting a Citroen DS3 R3 on a two-mile stage at Sweet Lamb, media awareness, event strategy, technical ability and future potential.

A judging panel of World Rally Championship co-driver Chris Patterson, motoring journalist Jerry Williams and experienced team representatives Jean Francois Lienere and Risto Laine selected the winner.

“I’m over the moon to have won here today, I really didn’t expect it,” said Donnelly. “It’s been a really tough couple of days with some very slippery conditions and I honestly think that it could have gone any way. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Pirelli, the British Rally Championship, Citroen and David Greer Motorsport for this fantastic opportunity. If you look at some of the people who have won with Pirelli before, it is a real honour to be chosen as this year’s Pirelli Star Driver.”

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
British Rally Championship

Nicky Grist Stages given green light but no spectators allowed

2 Mins read
Second round of the British Rally Championship given the go ahead but no spectators will be allowed on the Epynt Ranges.
British Rally Championship

Sam Moffett takes British Rally Championship opener at Oulton Park

2 Mins read
Sam Moffett increased his pace throughout the day at the Neil Howard Stages to claim his debut BRC victory.
British Rally Championship

Motorsport UK British Rally Championship kicks off 2021 season with Oulton Park opener

2 Mins read
The British Rally Championship finally returns after a 15 month lay-off with an event based entire at Oulton Park circuit.