Vinales Continues Domination Of Valencia Test

2 Mins read

Maverick Vinales led the Moto3 field for the second day running as the opening test of 2013 continued at the Ricardo Tormo Circuit in Valencia. It was another day dominated by the KTMs although fourth placed Romano Fenati was among the big movers on day two, bringing the leading FTR-Honda to within a second of Vinales at the top.

After setting the pace on Tuesday, Vinales wasted no time lowering his own benchmark time this morning, improving to a 1:40.227 to lead Fenati by six tenths in the first session. Fenati wouldn’t go quicker in the remainder of the day and was subsequently overtaken by Alex Rins and Luis Salom who matched each other in the 1:40.4s bracket.

The Spaniards’ teammates completed a KTM-heavy top six with Zulfahmi Khairuddin and Alex Marquez next up while Jonas Folger kept up his good form with seventh. The German was riding on board the 2013-spec Kalex KTM for the first time and was impressed by its first outing. Jakub Kornfeil was eighth quickest ahead of Brad Binder with Mahindra maintaining their promising start courtesy of tenth placed Miguel Oliveira.

Danny Webb finished his second day with Ambrogio Racing in sixteenth spot despite crashing on Wednesday while Matteo Ferrari led the rookie pack in eighteenth, one place ahead of John McPhee on Caretta Technology-RTG’s FTR.


Moto3 Valencia Test: Combined Classification – Wednesday 13th February
Pos Rider Nat Team Best Time
1 25. Maverick Vinales JHK t-shirt Laglisse 1:40.168
2 42. Alex Rins Estrella Galicia 0’0 1:40.408
3 39. Luis Salom Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:40.435
4 5. Romano Fenati San Carlo Team Italia 1:40.911
5 63. Zulfahmi Khairuddin Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:40.961
6 12. Alex Marquez Estrella Galicia 0’0 1:41.295
7 94. Jonas Folger Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 1:41.590
8 84. Jakub Kornfeil Redox RW Racing GP 1:41.667
9 41. Brad Binder Ambrogio Racing 1:41.785
10 44. Miguel Oliveira Mahindra Racing 1:41.902
11 8. Jack Miller Caretta Technology-RTG 1:42.109
12 32. Isaac Vinales Bimbo-Ongetta-Centro Seta 1:42.134
13 53. Jasper Iwema RW Racing GP 1:42.182
14 7. Efren Vazquez Mahindra Racing 1:42.201
15 61. Arthur Sissis Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:42.298
16 99. Danny Webb Ambrogio Racing 1:42.328
17 58. Juan Francisco Guevara CIP 1:42.346
18 3. Matteo Ferrari Ongetta-Centro Seta 1:42.443
19 17. John McPhee Caretta Technology-RTG 1:42.446
20 11. Livio Loi Marc VDS Racing Team 1:42.475
21 65. Philipp Oettl Paddock TT Motion Events 1:42.574
22 4. Francesco Bagnaia San Carlo Team Italia 1:42.577
23 31. Niklas Ajo Avant Tecno 1:42.624
24 22. Ana Carrasco JHK t-shirt Laglisse 1:42.655
25 57. Eric Granado Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 1:42.672
26 89. Alan Techer CIP 1:43.069
27 9. Toni Finsterbusch Kiefer Racing 1:43.082
28 77. Lorenzo Baldassarri Team Go & Fun Honda Gresini 1:43.256
29 19. Alessandro Tonucci Team La Fonte Tascaracing 1:44.081
30 23. Niccolo Antonelli Team Go & Fun Honda Gresini 1:44.398
31 29. Hyuga Watanabe Team La Fonte Tascaracing 1:44.464
32 10. Alexis Masbou Ongetta-Rivacold 1:44.647


5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Arenas snatches victory in a spectacular Moto3 season opener

1 Mins read
Albert Arenas claimed an incredible victory to kick off the 2020 Moto3 Championship