Webb Shines In Wet Conditions At Jerez

1 Mins read

Danny Webb’s wet weather skills came to the fore once again as the British rider topped the timesheets on day one of testing at Jerez. Webb led an Ambrogio Racing 1-2 with Brad Binder second fastest as the championship favourites took a back seat.

Conditions improved over the course of the day with the rain easing off during the afternoon session but the track never dried enough for slicks, leaving the teams with precious little to learn on the damp track. With his only Grand Prix pole position coming in the wet, Webb was always going to be a rider worth watching and clocked a 1:56.924, the only rider inside 1m57.

Binder was four tenths of a second adrift in second with Jack Miller, another rider with a formidable record in mixed weather conditions, third fastest for Caretta Technology-RTG. Zulfahmi Khairuddin and Luis Salom were the leading KTMs in fourth and fifth for the Ajo squad while Maverick Vinales trailed Jonas Folger in seventh, the first time he’s been beaten in 2013.

Miguel Oliveira proved the speed of the Mahindra isn’t restricted to dry conditions with eighth place ahead of Arthur Sissis while John McPhee finished a fine tenth, edging out the equally impressive Lorenzo Baldassarri. Fellow rookie Livio Loi also showed promise but a heavy crash put a dampener on proceedings for Marc VDS.


Moto3 Jerez Test: Combined Classification – Tuesday 19th February
Pos Rider Nat Team Time  
1 99. Danny Webb Ambrogio Racing 1:56.924  
2 41. Brad Binder Ambrogio Racing 1:57.351
3 8. Jack Miller Caretta Technology-RTG 1:57.383
4 63. Zulfahmi Khairuddin Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:57.512
5 39. Luis Salom Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:57.881
6 94. Jonas Folger Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 1:57.904
7 25. Maverick Vinales JHK t-shirt Laglisse 1:57.994
8 44. Miguel Oliveira Mahindra Racing 1:58.475
9 61. Arthur Sissis Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:58.573
10 17. John McPhee Caretta Technology-RTG 1:58.655
11 77. Lorenzo Baldassarri Team Go & Fun Honda Gresini 1:58.863
12 57. Eric Granado Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 1:59.098
13 32. Isaac Vinales Bimbo-Ongetta-Centro Seta 1:59.307
14 11. Livio Loi Marc VDS Racing Team 1:59.431
15 58. Juan Francisco Guevara CIP 1:59.524
16 29. Hyuga Watanabe Team La Fonte Tascaracing 1:59.597
17 22. Ana Carrasco JHK t-shirt Laglisse 1:59.851
18 7. Efren Vazquez Mahindra Racing 2:00.020
19 5. Romano Fenati San Carlo Team Italia 2:00.096
20 9. Toni Finsterbusch Kiefer Racing 2:00.467
21 3. Matteo Ferrari Ongetta-Centro Seta 2:00.521
22 65. Philipp Oettl Paddock TT Motion Events 2:01.258
23 89. Alan Techer CIP 2:01.507
24 19. Alessandro Tonucci Team La Fonte Tascaracing 2:02.254
25 10. Alexis Masbou Ongetta-Rivacold 2:02.765
26 66. Florian Alt Kiefer Racing 2:02.967
27 4. Francesco Bagnaia San Carlo Team Italia 2:03.012


5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Arenas snatches victory in a spectacular Moto3 season opener

1 Mins read
Albert Arenas claimed an incredible victory to kick off the 2020 Moto3 Championship