Crutchlow Closes Winter Testing On Top At Jerez

2 Mins read

Cal Crutchlow was the fastest man on the final day of pre-season testing at Jerez as the MotoGP teams finalised their preparation for the 2013 campaign. The Briton set the pace in conditions that remained less than favourable with Sunday leader Valentino Rossi taking second two tenths adrift.

The circuit was wet once again when the pitlane opened in the morning following overnight rain and that prompted Dani Pedrosa to finish his programme early, choosing not to turn a wheel all day. This a decision mirrored by Ben Spies and Alvaro Bautista although injuries also came into the consideration for them with Spies still nursing a painful shoulder while Bautista was eager not to repeat the accident with fractured two fingers on Sunday.

Crutchlow’s 1:39.511 was the quickest among the riders who did go out with Rossi second, unable to match his Sunday benchmark. Stefan Bradl was the last rider under 1:40 in third with reigning world champion Jorge Lorenzo fourth fastest on a 1:40.105, fractionally faster than Marc Marquez on the sole Repsol Honda to turn a wheel.

A quartet of Ducatis came next as the GP13 continued its competitive form on the twisty Jerez circuit. Andrea Iannone completed his impressive week with sixth place ahead of the factory teammates Nicky Hayden and Andrea Dovizioso with test rider Michele Pirro bringing up the rear in ninth after trying several experimental parts.

Randy de Puniet remained the top CRT rider in tenth position with Bradley Smith separating him from teammate Aleix Espargaro. Smith completed more laps than anyone else as he continues to acclimatise to the 1000cc Yamaha but the next time he will ride it in anger will be first practice in Qatar. The same goes for Michael Laverty on Paul Bird Motorsport’s home-built chassis and the Ulsterman was nineteenth on the final day.

Official MotoGP Test – Jerez (Monday 25th March)
Pos Rider Nat Team Time Laps  
1 35. Cal Crutchlow Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:39.511 30 Report
2 46. Valentino Rossi Yamaha Factory Racing 1:39.735 32 Report
3 6. Stefan Bradl LCR Honda MotoGP 1:39.975 26 Report
4 99. Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Factory Racing 1:40.105 42 Report
5 93. Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team 1:40.130 34 Report
6 29. Andrea Iannone Energy T.I. Pramac Racing 1:40.331 25
7 69. Nicky Hayden Ducati Team 1:40.370 42 Report
8 04. Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team 1:40.516 30 Report
9 51. Michele Pirro Ducati Test Team 1:40.881 44
10 14. Randy de Puniet Power Electronics Aspar 1:40.971 24
11 38. Bradley Smith Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:41.134 56 Report
12 41. Aleix Espargaro Power Electronics Aspar 1:41.218 39
13 71. Claudio Corti NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:41.443 44 Report
14 7. Hiroshi Aoyama Avintia Blusens 1:41.772 41
15 52. Lukas Pesek Came Ioda Racing Project 1:41.791 49
16 17. Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing 1:41.864 36
17 68. Yonny Hernandez Paul Bird Motorsport 1:42.363 25
18 9. Danilo Petrucci Came IodaRacing Project 1:42.428 18
19 33. Michael Laverty Paul Bird Motorsport 1:42.470 36
20 67. Bryan Staring Go & Fun Honda Gresini 1:43.525 41 Report
21 5. Colin Edwards NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:56.281 14 Report
22 8. Hector Barbera Avintia Blusens 1:56.897 5
23 11. Ben Spies Ignite Pramac Racing No Time 0
24 19. Alvaro Bautista Go & Fun Honda Gresini No Time 0 Report
25 26. Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team No Time 0 Report
Related posts

Oliveira and Tech3 victorious in Styria

3 Mins read
Miguel Oliveira claimed his maiden win in the premier class and for Red Bull KTM Tech3 in a stop-start second AustrianGP.

Espargaro takes maiden pole at home for KTM

2 Mins read
Pol Espargaro takes historic maiden pole for Red Bull KTM in the second visit to the Austrian track.

Dovizioso victorious in drama filled AustrianGP

3 Mins read
Ducati continue their Austria domination as Dovizioso stormed to victory to take Ducati’s 50th victory after a horrendous accident brings out the red flag.

Leave a Reply