Folger Leads For Aspar On Day One At Jerez

2 Mins read

Jonas Folger set the fastest time of the day for the first time this winter as Moto3’s final pre-season test got underway at Jerez on Monday. The Aspar rider finished 2012 strongly with pole position at the final round at Valencia and in perfect conditions at Jerez, showed the kind of form that could see him mount a title challenge in 2013.

The German finished just three tenths shy of the benchmark time set at the February test here and went six tenths faster than he’d gone himself, beating Alex Rins by a quarter of a second. The Estrella Galicia rider remains one of the stand-out performers in pre-season, as do Maverick Vinales and Luis Salom who completed the top four, the trio all on virtually identical times.

The Ambrogio Racing riders continue to show promising pace too with Brad Binder and Danny Webb fifth and seventh on their Suter Hondas. Both were just three quarters of a second off the pace with the Briton revelling from his change in teams. His former employers are also making strides with Miguel Oliveira splitting the Ambrogio duo in sixth while Efren Vazquez took his Mahindra to fourteenth.

Jack Miller was eighth fastest ahead of reigning Spanish Moto3 champion Alex Marquez with Romano Fenati completing the top ten. The San Carlo Team Italia rider was testing a new Honda engine which he hopes will help close the gap to KTM and the initial signs appear to be positive having halved the two second gap from the previous test.


Moto3 Jerez Test: Combined Classification – Monday 18th March
Pos Rider Nat Team Best Time
1 94. Jonas Folger Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 1:47.149
2 42. Alex Rins Estrella Galicia 0’0 1:47.401
3 25. Maverick Vinales JHK t-shirt Laglisse 1:47.457
4 39. Luis Salom Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:47.468
5 41. Brad Binder Ambrogio Racing 1:47.903
6 44. Miguel Oliveira Mahindra Racing 1:47.940
7 99. Danny Webb Ambrogio Racing 1:47.959
8 8. Jack Miller Caretta Technology-RTG 1:48.154
9 12. Alex Marquez Estrella Galicia 0’0 1:48.182
10 5. Romano Fenati San Carlo Team Italia 1:48.214
11 32. Isaac Vinales Bimbo-Ongetta-Centro Seta 1:48.493
12 61. Arthur Sissis Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:48.528
13 63. Zulfahmi Khairuddin Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:48.544
14 7. Efren Vazquez Mahindra Racing 1:48.806
15 31. Niklas Ajo Avant Tecno 1:49.006
16 4. Francesco Bagnaia San Carlo Team Italia 1:49.038
17 17. John McPhee Caretta Technology-RTG 1:49.094
18 11. Livio Loi Marc VDS Racing Team 1:49.139
19 58. Juanfran Guevara CIP Moto3 1:49.186
20 89. Alan Techer CIP Moto3 1:49.297
21 10. Alexis Masbou Ongetta-Rivacold 1:49.297
22 23. Niccolo Antonelli Go & Fun Gresini Moto3 1:49.357
23 9. Toni Finsterbusch Kiefer Racing 1:49.416
24 22. Ana Carrasco JHK t-shirt Laglisse 1:49.479
25 57. Eric Granado Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 1:49.505
26 65. Philipp Oettl Paddock TT Motion Events 1:49.566
27 77. Lorenzo Baldassarri Go & Fun Gresini Moto3 1:49.583
28 53. Jasper Iwema RW Racing GP 1:49.763
29 84. Jakub Kornfeil Redox RW Racing GP 1:49.910
30 3. Matteo Ferrari Ongetta-Centro Seta 1:50.059
31 19. Alessandro Tonucci Team La Fonte Tascaracing 1:50.473
32 66. Florian Alt Kiefer Racing 1:51.165
33 29. Hyuga Watanabe Team La Fonte Tascaracing 1:51.202

5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Arenas snatches victory in a spectacular Moto3 season opener

1 Mins read
Albert Arenas claimed an incredible victory to kick off the 2020 Moto3 Championship