British Rallycross

Procter Triumphs At British Rallycross Season Opener

2 Mins read

The opening round of the British Rallycross championship got underway at Lydden Hill Race Circuit in Kent over the weekend of 16 and 17 March. Not only was it the first round for the British Championship it was also the second round of the Belgian Championship. A welcome return for the Belgian Championship after a years absence  This boosted the entry numbers to an impressive 108 cars over 13 different categories.

However the weather decided to throw all that it could at competitors and spectators alike on Saturday with torrential rain and strong winds.

Belgian Jochan Coox was the major loss on Saturday when his VW Scirocco suffered a dramatic turbo failure and burst into flames shortly after completing the first heat. Spelling an early end to his weekends racing. One of the more unusual entries was Icelandic rally driver Jón Bjarni Hrólfsson driving a Subaru Impreza and quietly claimed 10th place while claiming he was only there for a bit of fun!

The impressive Supercar A final, thrilled from start to finish. Andreas Bakkerud ‘Mr Baby Blue’ sat on pole being impressive all weekend on his supercar debut event after joining the newly formed Doran Motorsport driving one of their Citroen DS3’s. However 2012 Belgian champion Jos Kuijpers and 2012 British Champion Julian Godfrey who made up the rest of the front row weren’t going to let him have a dream start to his top flight career. The eventual winner Kevin Procter lined up at the back of the grid with a host of experience all capable of winning between him and the front which included British Rallycross legend Pat Doran.

Procter took an early joker lap then set his sights on the leaders. By this time Bakkerud had built up a commanding lead only to pull up with engine failure on the penultimate lap which left the top spot open for Procter. However Godfrey kept him honest right up until the checkered flag searching for that illusive gap that simply wasn’t there.

Click here to view the gallery from the weekend


1 Kevin Procter (GB) Ford Focus 3:29.006
2 Julian Godfrey (GB) Ford Fiesta 3:30.380
3 Jos Kuijpers (I) Ford Focus 3:31.403
4 Koen Pauwels (B) Ford Focus 3:31.931
5 Pat Doran (GB) Citroën DS3 3:32.755
6 Jos Jansen (B) Ford Focus 3:36.741
7 Patrick Van Mechelen (GB) Ford Fiesta 3:39.568
8 Andreas Bakkerud (N) Citroën DS3

SUPER 1600:

1 Marcel Snoeijers (NL) Renault Megane 3:47.989
2 Dennis Remans (B) Ford Fiesta 3:48.952
3 Bart Stouten (B) Toyota Yaris 3:50.582
4 Davy Van Den Branden (B) Citroën DS3 3:52.634
5 Russ Simpson (GB) Citroën C2 3:59.816
6 Darren Scott (GB) Suzuki Swift 4:04.090
7 Willem Veltman (NL) Citroën C2 4:05.218
8 Dave Van Beers (B) Renault Clio 4:13.766

Super National

1 Ashley Simpson Lotus Exige3:41.887
2 Stuart Emery Peugeot 206 3:51.682
3 Steve Cozens Lotus Exige 3:56.267
4 Paul Wakeling MG ZS 3:57.693
5 Gary Dixon Vauxhall Astra GTE 3:58.835
6 Michael Howlin Ford Fiesta 4:00.891
7 Gary Simpson BMW E30 4:12.673

BMW Mini:

1 Keifer Hudson BMW Mini 4:03.544
2 Kris Hudson BMW Mini 4:03.722
3 Tony Lynch BMW Mini 4:09.446
4 David Bell BMW Mini 4:10.722
5 Thomas Edwardes BMW Mini 4:14.718

Hot Hatch:

1 John Lyne Citroën Saxo 4:02.768
2 Craig Lomax Citroën Saxo 4:04.788
3 Darren Clark Citroën Saxo 4:16.870
4 Tomasz Wielgosz Peugeot 106 GTI 4:25.086
5 Nick Potter Citroën Saxo 4:25.087
6 Adrian Blantford Citroën Saxo VTS 4:25.808
7 John Rook Citroën Saxo VTS 16v 4:30.889
8 Slawomir Woloch Citroën Saxo

Retro Rallycross:

1 Lance Foster British Leyland Mini 4:00.729
2 Rob Gibson MG Metro 6R4 4:01.514
3 Ian Biagi BMC Mini Clubman 4:16.324
4 Marc Griffin Ford Fiesta MK1 4:38.556
5 Grzegorz Kalinecki Lancia Delta HF Intergrale
6 Barry Stewart Porsche 911
7 Ray Morgan Ford Escort BDA

RX 150:

1 Mark Scott Rage RX150 3:42.254
2 Kevin Feeney RX150 3:52.094
3 Richard Moore RX 150 Buggy 4:07.666
4 Larry Sargent Rage RX150 4:14.557
5 Adam Sargent Rage RX150 4:16.950
6 John Mc Govern Rage RX150 4:36.860

Suzuki Swift:

1 Graham Rodemark Suzuki Swift 3:57.140
2 Tristan Ovenden Suzuki Swift 3:57.587
3 Timmy Hansen Suzuki Swift 4:00.434
4 Chris Mullen Suzuki Swift 4:02.838
5 Phil Sherwoord Suzuki Swift Sport 4:10.295
6 Kris Fruru Suzuki Swift 4:11.647
7 Stephan Biagioni Suzuki Swift 4:12.649
8 Rob Maynard Suzuki Swift Sport 4:30.273
9 James Knight Coney Suzuki Swift

Suzuki Swift Junior:

1 Kevin Hansen Suzuki Swift 4:09.727
2 James Ross Suzuki Swift 4:12.370
3 Charlie Bean Suzuki Swift 4:49.507

Related posts
British Rallycross

Rallycross Celebrates 55 Years of Iconic Porsches

2 Mins read
Vic Elford won the first rallycross event in 1967 in a Porsche 911, 55 years on the iconic Porsche 911 rallycross cars are still shining on the rallycross tracks
British Rallycross

Bennett Extends His Lead In British Rallycross

3 Mins read
The XITE Energy Racing driver returned to Lydden Hill for round two of the 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship and gave the fans just the “xite-ment” they were craving and claimed some points at the same time.
British Rallycross

Rallycross Returns to Lydden for Round One of the 2022 BRX

3 Mins read
After months of waiting, the familar sights, sounds and smells of rallycross finally returned to Lydden Hill in Kent for round one of the 2022 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship.