Rossi Sets Day Two Testing Pace At Jerez

2 Mins read

Valentino Rossi finished a day of testing as the fastest rider for the first time this year, leading a Yamaha 1-2-3 on the penultimate day’s running before Qatar. Rossi pipped factory teammate Jorge Lorenzo the quickest time by 0.015s with Cal Crutchlow three hundredths of a second further back in third for Tech 3.

After the heavy rain of Saturday, the Jerez circuit was still damp in the morning but the riders were able to get down to some serous dry track time after lunch. Rossi, appropriately, completed 46 laps on his way to a 1:39.525, marginally quicker than last year’s pole position. Lorenzo and Crutchlow joined him in the 1:39.5s bracket while Dani Pedrosa came in just a tenth off the pace himself on the first of the factory Hondas.

Andrea Dovizioso put in a strong showing for Ducati, ending the day just eight tenths off the pace in fifth with Alvaro Bautista sixth. The Spaniard’s day was heavily disrupted though after a crash at the Sito Pons corner left him with two fractured fingers on his left hand. The injuries aren’t thought to prevent him from running tomorrow but an hour of dry running was lost in the accident.

Marc Marquez had one of his less impressive days in MotoGP in seventh although he still outpaced the LCR Honda of Stefan Bradl and Andrea Iannone who both crashed as well. Nicky Hayden completed the top ten ahead of the impressive Hector Barbera who led the CRT pack, beating Bradley Smith and Ben Spies on prototype machinery in the process.


Official MotoGP Test – Jerez (Sunday 24th March)
Pos Rider Nat Team Time Laps  
1 46. Valentino Rossi Yamaha Factory Racing 1:39.525 46  
2 99. Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Factory Racing 1:39.540 34  
3 35. Cal Crutchlow Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:39.574 44
4 26. Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 1:39.630 31
5 04. Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team 1:40.322 30
6 19. Alvaro Bautista Go & Fun Honda Gresini 1:40.686 35
7 93. Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team 1:40.714 36
8 6. Stefan Bradl LCR Honda MotoGP 1:40.783 32
9 29. Andrea Iannone Energy T.I. Pramac Racing 1:41.088 15
10 69. Nicky Hayden Ducati Team 1:41.325 35
11 8. Hector Barbera Avintia Blusens 1:41.376 25
12 38. Bradley Smith Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:41.398 41
13 41. Aleix Espargaro Power Electronics Aspar 1:41.444 48
14 9. Danilo Petrucci Came IodaRacing Project 1:41.529 32
15 51. Michele Pirro Ducati Test Team 1:41.603 32
16 14. Randy de Puniet Power Electronics Aspar 1:41.686 34
17 71. Claudio Corti NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:41.701 26
18 11. Ben Spies Ignite Pramac Racing 1:41.702 29
19 17. Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing 1:41.916 35
20 68. Yonny Hernandez Paul Bird Motorsport 1:42.050 32
21 67. Bryan Staring Go & Fun Honda Gresini 1:42.107 39
22 5. Colin Edwards NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:42.154 33
23 7. Hiroshi Aoyama Avintia Blusens 1:43.959 25
24 33. Michael Laverty Paul Bird Motorsport 1:44.185 21
25 52. Lukas Pesek Came Ioda Racing Project 1:44.874 33


5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
FIA WECFormula 1MotoGP

Eau Rouge Grandstand Opens at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps

2 Mins read
After two years of track renovations, the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps has opened its highly anticipated Eau Rogue / Raidillon grandstand.

Dani Pedrosa to make car racing debut in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe

1 Mins read
MotoGP veteran Dani Pedrosa will race cars for the first time when he competes in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe for FFF Racing Team alongside Antonin Borga.

Danilo Petrucci becomes first MotoGP rider to win Dakar Rally stage

2 Mins read
Danilo Petrucci won the fifth stage of the Dakar Rally following a penalty to two-time winner Toby Price, making him the first MotoGP alumnus to win a stage in the famed rally raid.