Muller Beats Michelisz To Win Race 1 At Hungaroring

Yvan Muller - Photo Credit: FIA WTCC
Yvan Muller - Photo Credit: FIA WTCC

Yvan Muller claimed his third race win of the World Touring Car Championship season in race 1 at the Hungaroring, leading local hero Norbert Michelisz across the finish line.

Pole-sitter Muller kept hold of the lead from the rolling start in his RML Chevrolet, and although Zengo Honda driver Michelisz was less than half a second behind with a couple of laps remaining, he was unable to challenge for the win.

Gabriele Tarquini was left behind by the leading pair and finished 12 seconds behind in third place. His factory team-mate Tiago Monteiro was turned around by contact from Tom Coronel at turn two on the opening lap, resulting in a puncture that put the Portuguese driver in the tyre barrier at turn one on the following lap.

Rob Huff took fourth place and held onto it until the end in his Munnich Motorsport SEAT despite big pressure from behind. Tom Chilton was fifth early on but was relegated by Coronel on lap five, with Mehdi Bennani following him through. Coronel began looking for a way past Huff but ran wide, allowing Bennani to slip through and take fifth in addition to the Yokohama Trophy win. Coronel finished sixth with Chilton seventh.

Bamboo Engineering Chevrolet pair Alex MacDowall and James Nash were eighth and ninth respectively, with Michel Nykjaer tenth in his Cruze.