Formula Renault BARC

Hickin Makes Scorpio Switch For Silverstone Finale

1 Mins read

Piers Hickin will make his Protyre Formula Renault Championship return at the final rounds of the season at Silverstone with Scorpio Motorsport.

The former Ginetta Junior racer joined the championship at the start of the season, making his single-seater bow. The 16 year old has competed in three of the five meetings to date, taking a best finish of eighth.

After missing the last rounds at Rockingham, Hickin returns with 2008 and 2009 series champions Scorpio Motorsport. The Leicestershire-based outfit’s second car has been vacant since Ivan Taranov left the championship mid-season, the Russian having produced three top five finishes in the first eight races, including one podium.

“We’re really excited here to have Piers joining the team,” Scorpio team principal Jonathan Pettitt told “Myself and Kieren [Clark, team driver coach] have mentioned to each other a few times through the season that he’s showed potential and it will now be great to put him in one of our cars. Much like with Ivan last year, we hope Piers can come in and deliver the best result of his season to give him a boost to the end of the campaign.”

Hickin will join Henrique Baptista at Scorpio for the final rounds, the Brazilian looking to cap off a mixed season with a first podium finish at Silverstone.

Related posts
Formula Renault BARC

Formula Renault BARC: Where Are They Now?

4 Mins read
From IndyCar to FIA WEC, some of the most successful alumni from the Formula Renault BARC have impressively rose up the motorsport ranks.
Formula Renault 2.0Formula Renault BARC

Fischer Steps Up To Formula Renault ALPS For 2015

1 Mins read
American racer TJ Fischer will move into European competition for the first time this season with the new Salvador Duran Racing team.
Formula Renault BARCFormula Renault UK

No UK Formula Renault For 2015

2 Mins read
Plans to revive Formula Renault UK have been scrapped, meaning there will be no British Formula Renault series for the first time since 1988.