Marquez And Repsol Honda Take Control At Misano

Marc Marquez narrowly led Dani Pedrosa this afternoon as Repsol Honda enjoyed a comfortable 1-2 in free practice at Misano. The Spanish teammates were separated by just 0.033s but both enjoyed a quarter of a second lead over the quickest Yamaha, Valentino Rossi in third.

Having recovered from his warm-up injury sustained at Silverstone, Marquez was straight on the pace in morning practice but Yamaha made the early running in FP2 as Rossi clocked a 1:34.662 to lead teammate Jorge Lorenzo. The Yamahas, boasting a new seamless shift gearbox this weekend, only enjoyed ten minutes of superiority before Marquez overtook them, setting the fastest lap of the day on a 1:34.416.

At the halfway stage, Marquez extended his lead to four tenths of a second with a 1:34.200 and he wouldn’t be headed from there. Pedrosa on the sister bike was the nearest challenger having edged past Rossi and spent the rest of the session chipping away at his teammate’s lead, reducing it to less than a tenth by the chequered flag.

The Yamahas also improved late on but Rossi could only get to within 0.258s while Lorenzo trailed his teammate by half a tenth in fourth. The performance of the day unquestionably came from Aleix Espargaro who took his privateer Aspar machine to fifth with Alvaro Bautista sixth ahead of Michele Pirro and Andrea Dovizioso’s Ducatis.

Stefan Bradl has to work to do tomorrow after going ninth quickest today, crashing at turn six along the way, but no-one has a bigger task ahead of them than Tech 3 with Cal Crutchlow and Bradley Smith tenth and fourteenth respectively, the latter going down at turn one as he chased a top ten spot.


 GP Aperol di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini – Friday Practice Classification
Pos Rider Bike Team Lap Time
1  Marc Marquez Honda Repsol Honda Team 1:34.200
2  Dani Pedrosa Honda Repsol Honda Team 1:34.233
3  Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha Factory Racing 1:34.458
4  Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Yamaha Factory Racing 1:34.495
5  Aleix Espargaro ART Power Electronics Aspar 1:34.732
6  Alvaro Bautista Honda GO&FUN Honda Gresini 1:34.858
7  Michele Pirro Ducati Ignite Pramac Racing 1:34.889
8  Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati Team 1:34.901
9  Stefan Bradl Honda LCR Honda MotoGP 1:35.107
10  Cal Crutchlow Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:35.208
11  Andrea Iannone Ducati Energy T.I. Pramac Racing 1:35.218
12  Nicky Hayden Ducati Ducati Team 1:35.392
13  Danilo Petrucci Ioda-Suter Came IodaRacing Project 1:35.933
14  Bradley Smith Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:36.004
15  Claudio Corti FTR Kawasaki NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:36.122
16  Colin Edwards FTR Kawasaki NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:36.181
17  Hector Barbera FTR Avintia Blusens 1:36.198
18  Randy de Puniet ART Power Electronics Aspar 1:36.283
19  Hiroshi Aoyama FTR Avintia Blusens 1:36.646
20  Karel Abraham ART Cardion AB Motoracing 1:37.310
21  Michael Laverty PBM Paul Bird Motorsport 1:37.329
22  Yonny Hernandez ART Paul Bird Motorsport 1:37.334
23  Bryan Staring FTR Honda GO&FUN Honda Gresini 1:37.722
24  Lukas Pesek Ioda-Suter Came IodaRacing Project 1:38.962