McKenna Adds BRC Media Trophy To 2013 Haul

2013 MSA British Rally Championship star Daniel McKenna has been named the inaugural BRCLIVE Media Trophy winner.

The 2012 Billy Coleman Award victor adds the Prodrive-supported award to his impressive haul for the season that features the BRC RallyTwo title, the Fiesta SportTrophy honours and the coveted Pirelli Star Driver award.

McKenna was up against Jon Armstrong, James Ford, Harry Threlfall, Ben McKay, Steve Rokland and Garry Pearson for the Media Trophy, which was created to recognise their media efforts over the season.

The finalist’s final challenge came at Prodrive’s Oxfordshire HQ. After a tour of the museum and facilities, including a Q&A with Prodrive’s Richard Taylor and David Lapworth, they began one-to-one interviews with the judging panel.

The judges, Prodrive’s Ben Sayer, The Sun’s Paul Evans, Stagetime Rally Group’s Neil Cloughley and VIPR Media’s Rebecca Prosser, quizzed them on their media and marketing activities, and their plans for next year.

McKenna emerged victorious, winning a test-session in a Prodrive Mini JCW S2000 in the process.

McKenna said:  “At the start of the year, I could never have imagined that we could win the RallyTwo category, Fiesta SportTrophy, the BRCLIVE Media Award and the Pirelli Star Driver Shootout. It’s a dream come true. A lot of hard work and determination has been put in by me, Arthur and the team all year and it has been all worthwhile with the fantastic opportunities we have ahead of us.”