Formula Renault BARC

Butel Set For Formula Renault Bow With SWB

1 Mins read

Jack Butel has become the first confirmed driver in the 2014 Protyre Formula Renault Championship after signing a deal with series regulars SWB Motorsport.

SWB are plotting a potential three-car entry in the single-seater championship this season, with 17 year old karting graduate being the first driver to sign with the Daventry-based outfit.

The Jersey-based racer steps up to car-racing for the first time as a graduate from SWB’s karting team, with Butel impressing team principal Simon Baldry during a test last year.

“We’re extremely happy to have Jack on board at such an important time in his racing career,” said Baldry, “We work hard with our kart drivers to bring them into the Formula Renault team as it’s the best place to learn the tools necessary to take them all the way to their goal. 

“Jack comes with some good sponsors and they are all keen to support this bright young talent all the way up the ladder. We are putting all we can behind him and will be working hard on our simulator to get him ready for the upcoming testing programme and into the season proper.” 

Alongside their Formula Renault commitments, SWB are also set to run two road cars in the Michelin Clio Cup Series this season, as they did to great success in 2013, as well as a single car in the main race class for the first time.

Related posts
Formula Renault BARC

Formula Renault BARC: Where Are They Now?

4 Mins read
From IndyCar to FIA WEC, some of the most successful alumni from the Formula Renault BARC have impressively rose up the motorsport ranks.
Formula Renault 2.0Formula Renault BARC

Fischer Steps Up To Formula Renault ALPS For 2015

1 Mins read
American racer TJ Fischer will move into European competition for the first time this season with the new Salvador Duran Racing team.
Formula Renault BARCFormula Renault UK

No UK Formula Renault For 2015

2 Mins read
Plans to revive Formula Renault UK have been scrapped, meaning there will be no British Formula Renault series for the first time since 1988.

Leave a Reply