Fortec Commits To 2014 Protyre Formula Renault

Fortec Motorsport have confirmed they will run a multi-car entry in the 2014 Protyre Formula Renault Championship.

There were rumours that the Daventry-based outfit would be leaving the championship this season to pursue their other single-seater efforts, but they have quashed those rumours with confirmation of plans for an up to four car squad.

Fortec have been front-runners in the series for a number of years, most recently winning the 2012 Winter Series title with Seb Morris before guiding Weiron Tan to the 2013 vice-champion’s position.

The team are currently in advanced discussions with a number of drivers, and hope to confirm their first driver signings in the next few weeks, as well as naming a new team manager and co-ordinator for its Protyre Formula Renault team.

“It seems as though people have been getting the wrong idea we’re not racing in Protyre Formula Renault this year – that couldn’t be further from the truth,” commented chief engineer Daniel Mitchell. “Fortec fully supports the championship and we’ll definitely be running a three car team, possibly four drivers.

“Protyre Formula Renault is the best junior single-seater championship in the UK, it’s the best place for young drivers to learn and that’s why Fortec has been, and continues to be, a strong supporter of the category. We’ve got extra TV coverage this year, a strong 15 race calendar and some good triple headers. We’ll be working as hard as ever in Renault this season – we’ll be in it to win it.”